logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Balaji symphony
Fraud
2. (0 mins ago)
Dragon City
overcharges
3. (4 mins ago)
Big Cat Rescue
Fraud and Lies
4. (44 mins ago)
Lincare
Incompetent, profit before safety culture
5. (59 mins ago)
Bharti Airtel Limited
balance tower site rent

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

TRS Recovery Services Complaints & Reviews - Beware, TRS is a rip off!

TRS Recovery Services Contacts & Informations

TRS Recovery Services

Posted:    Glen S.

Beware, TRS is a rip off!

Complaint Rating:  95 % with 97 votes
Received a letter from TRS Recovery Services on April 9, 2007. They told me that I had wrote a bad check for $380.00 to a Wal Mart store number 5494. Wrote a letter to TRS, BBB and California Association of Collectors. Tried to call TRS. All I got was their computers.

Told them that I live in Tucson, AZ. The store in question #5494 is in Idaho Falls, Idaho.They would not give me the banks name but check number was 5004. I have just written check number 1043. Told them that I have never been in Idaho. That I can prove that I was in Tucson on that date.

On May 7, 2007 received a call from a TELCHECK. Returned call at 1-800-927-0599 ext 5441. Talked to a man named Jerry. Told him the same thing that the letters said. All he wanted was my checking account number and my bank routing number. Told him that I would not give him that info. He still wanted it.

Today May 9, 2007 I got a letter from the Law Officers of Bennett & DeLoney, PO Box 190, Midvale, UT 84047--190. Telcheck turned this over to them. Called their number 1-800-815-1177. The women started to tell me how to make payment. I told her that I am not the person that you are looking for.She asked me if I bank at, can't remember the bank. Told her that I bank at Compass here in Tucson. Nothing else was said by me. She than told me that they had made a mistake and to just forget it.

This makes me wonder. She did not ask me for any more info. Why was she in such a hurry to forget it. Why did she say that they made a mistake.

Ask her if she wanted me to send copies of letters to her. She told me that would not be needed. I told her that I wanted to. To prove that I am innocent. That I would send the letters out on the 10th. She really does not want me to do it.

Name on check Schierloch. My name is Schierloh. Close.

Thank you,
Glen
Comments United States Business & Finances
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 22nd of Sep, 2007 by   Sandra Bailey 0 Votes
I have a collection notice : Dated 07/13/2007 a check on a account that was closed due to ID theft they stole my check books and credit cards in a home robbery. Now what do I do I have collection agents like this one sending letters and calling none stop. My credit is being destroyed by theft.

Help!!
 5th of Oct, 2007 by   Rebecca Smith 0 Votes
This company TRS RECOVERY SYSTEMS withdrew $25.00 from my checking account yesterday and my bank doesn't have any phone # or anything on this company. I let them know that I never authorized this electronic check transaction and after they investigate I will be reimbersed the $25.00.

After looking up this company on Google it seems like they are somehow related to writing checks at Walmart which I was doing 3 weeks ago prior to receiving my visa debit card. When I was waiting for my visa debit card I wrote 2 checks at Walmart and was denied writing the 3rd check; for the reason (CODE 3) TeleCheck said after I called the phone # on the receipt Walmart gave me of writing too many checks in a week. I had over a $1,000 dollars in the account and have never bounced a check.

My bank suggested opening a new account because this is the second time they did this, and not writing any more checks for Walmart or any TeleCheck company. It's probably safer to only use your credit or debit cards.
 27th of Dec, 2007 by   Agitated Fraud Victim 0 Votes
It is ironic to hear other folk's testimony on TRS. I too am getting threatening letters from TRS stating that I wrote checks (2) at Walmart. Obviously I did not write the checks; they are not against my accounts, are not in the correct name and to stores I have not visited. However, TRS continues to send letters. As stated in other people's discussion you can not get a person at TRS, the Law Firm or anyone else for that matter... All a series of phone trees... Next step for me is to report TRS to the Better Business Bureau. This is unacceptable harassment. Additionally, TRS or Walmart have never produced any documents showing the purchase, the accounts, the checks themselves etc….
 19th of Feb, 2008 by   sickandtiredofTRS 0 Votes
TRS has sent me 9 letters in the past month all to Walmart stores about checks "they claim" I've written. I explained to them that I am a victim of identity theft, the checks were stolen 5 years ago being presented in my maiden name and being mailed to my mothers address. They faxed over the affidavit, I filled it out and faxed it back to them only to receive a call from one of their represntatives a week later requesting payment.

After speaking on the phone to a "SUPERVISOR" today, she expalained to me that once checks are returned they can no longer be accepted at the store. When I asked her house could that be when 3 were written on December 28, 2007 , 3 on January 17th and the others 4 on February 8th she stated to me that it must have taken them that long to come back returned from the bank.

As of today 02/19, she is faxing me yet another affidavit to fill out because they did not receive that portion of the fax but they still recevied the police report. SURE.

Has anyone come up with a solution to this?
 25th of Feb, 2008 by   lori 0 Votes
After reading these testimonies I am feeling very sick at my stomach. Today I experienced the same thing. I went by my house on my luch break and checked the mail to find a letter from TRS Recovery Systems stating I have a returned electronic transfer in the amount of 285.21 Then they add acharge of 25.00 to that. First of all I live in a tiny town in Texas and apparently the bank is out of California TAft Bank which I never heard of before, and surprise, they never heard of me either. But they did say I am the second person from Texas to call in three months with the same problem. So at this minute they are verifying that I have not had an account with them ever, and when I called Walmart I spoke with the accounting dept and she tracked down the info and found the receipt was signed by and ME Woods far from my name, and the Walmart number 331 is in Sulpher LA which I have never been to before. The lady at walmart said to have Telecheck call her and she would confirm that this is a mistake, oh yeah whoever this is or the cashier or whoever the reference is my correct Drivers license number. That scares me. Anyway, when I called Telecheck they said they couldnt call out to Walmart or anywhere else to verify info. I would need to show this is not me, feel out a forgery affadavidt which they were gonna fax, but hasnt got here yet, and then send a copy of the receipt signed by someone else, all to them and they would take 10 days to get it off. I am hoping this is only a cashier mistake that my DL was entered wrong, and hopefully someone does not have my info and writing more checks. How do they get your correct address? is it that they pull your drivers license number and your name pops up with your correct address or what???
 8th of Jul, 2008 by   Jackie 0 Votes
I have had over twenty fraudulent checks totaling over $20, 000 written in my name and TRS or Telecheck keeps harassing me for payment. TRS needs a better system. Why do they keep authorizing these checks? TRS has a bad phone system, rude representatives, and always wants more information (affidavits should be enough with police reports). They enable the identity theft victims to write these bad checks. We need a class action suit against TRS to change their system to stop these criminals from using our stolen identities to write bad checks.
 28th of Aug, 2008 by   Edana 0 Votes
I received a notice on 8/27/08 from TRS Recovery or Telecheck and I had not received any notice from my bank. I contacted my bank and was informed I didn't have any insufficient funds on my account from the timeframe TRS claims nor from the customer/company listed on statement. Bank suggested I contact Better Business Bureau.
 6th of Oct, 2008 by   LS 0 Votes
I just received two letters this weekend to my home address, one letter was in my name and one was in someone else’s name. The letters were from TRS Recovery Services, INC. The one in my name indicated that I owed 100.00 (even amount) to Wal-Mart for a check I wrote on 9/22/08 and even referenced a check number. Here's the kicker... I don't write checks, I use my debt card for everything. I knew instantly something was not right.

I called my bank (my only bank). After confirming that there was no such transaction made by my bank, the bank representative was smart enough to look up TRS Recovery Services, INC. on the internet. She advised me that the company TRS Recovery Services, INC. is a fraud! There are so many sites referencing the scams made by this company. My bank representative asked me not to contact this company or to give them any information at all. She also asked me to fax her the letters that I received as I’m not the first customer to call in regards to the letters. I told her I wanted to file a complaint against the company. I sent her the fax this morning.

I was really furious about the letters as they looked very real and at first I thought I was going to have to pay for something I didn't owe. In addition to that I felt for so many other people who have probably already been scammed by this company.

I immediately submitted a complaint on line to the Better Business Bureau. My complaint was assigned to someone one in Huston, TX. This is where the company’s corporate offices are located.

I took all the information I had to my company the next day and shared the information with my co-workers. They were also very upset and we did some investigations of our own. If you call information and do a reverse look up, the number listed: 713-567-0499 is unpublished! If you call information and do a search for the company name, there is no such company… you will get two listings in Huston TX, and both are for furniture stores.

If you call 713-567-0499 to dispute the bill, this number will refer you to other numbers – which will lead you to the TeleCheck Services Company. If you call TeleCheck, they will immediately ask you for your bank account number and routing number! If you tell them you don’t have it, they will ask you for your drivers license number or your SSN!!! UGH!

There is a local address listed on the back of the letter. If you look this address up and map it on the internet, the business name TRS Recover Services is not found, imagine that!

My co-worker sent an email out to our department warning them about TRS Recovery Services, which I’m sure, will be forwarded and forwarded and forwarded on. Our company has thousands of employees so hopefully the word will spread like a wild fire.

We’re also in the process of filing a police report and filing a complaint to the Federal Trade Commission. My co-workers and I are so upset we’re even discussing contacting the local press with the letters and our story.

So here's what I have to say to TRS: Back at you TRS and good luck with your future as a company.
 15th of Oct, 2008 by   Chuck 0 Votes
Recently began recieving three letters demanding paymnet for 3 bad checks. Letter addressed to UNKNOWN. After a lengthy attempt to get through to a live person they started by asking for personal information to cofirm claim. I did give my name when I called and passed my DL# after much persistance on their part. Seeing all of the comments I am now sure I will be further harrassed. Any suggestions on successful next steps. I want to pre-empt them. They refused to provide me with info yet pushed for mine...
 26th of Mar, 2009 by   megrim 0 Votes
chuck it is possible you have suffered from identity theft. If you are receiving letters by telecheck or trs in regards to debts that you haven't done is because some of your information was used at a telecheck merchant (meaning a store that uses telecheck to process and guarantee their checks) to present a check. The telecheck rep has to verify such information, not to be used against you but to first determine if the debt is really yours and/or determine what information was used to write the check that bounced (such as your your name, address, state issued ids or banking account numbers) from there the rep will provide you with a list of information that would need to be sent to telecheck to update that debt to fraud status. One of the things the recommend you to do is to file in a police report regarding the issue.

perhaps chuck they did not provide because you were asking for information in regards to a debt unfortunately, they cannot do that if the debt does not belong directly to you (there are laws that forbid this) however you are entitled to dispute any transaction with them or claim yourself victim of fraud and they will help you. i hope this helps
 6th of Apr, 2009 by   Unhappy 0 Votes
I am receiving calls from the company for a person that I do not know. If you believe that this company committing bad acts, or if you have asked them to stop contacting you but they refuse, file a complaint with the FTC. They have a complaint for that you can fill out online. This company is all over the internet for bad practices, they will not stop until legal action is taken. Do every one a favor, file a complaint.
 2nd of Jun, 2009 by   Vanessa 0 Votes
I have recently wrote about 4 bad checks to WalMart.I'm not a victm of identity theft.I have a very low income and can't afford to pay the fees for each check.I have recevived phone calls from TRS where they ask for way to much information.I have told the person on the phone I paid the overdraft that I owed my bank and have since closed the bank account.They then become somewhat annoyed with me and ask if I have a credit card.I do have one but don't tell them that. I have explained that I can't pay all the debt off at once.Also received a letter in the mail from them.I know I need to pay the fees that I owe but don't know how to do that when they harass me about money.I am familiar enough with their phone service that I can guess who is calling when the phone wakes me up i the morning.I have bounced checks before and never dealt with TRS before.Since I closed my bank account I don't know if the bank would have been able to pay them.If i had ground for a complaint I would file one
 5th of Jul, 2009 by   Artie Lensh 0 Votes
Is there any thing else any of you can tell me about TRS because I'm going through the same phone calls at all hours of the day.
If you can let me know I would be greatful..


Judith
 5th of Jul, 2009 by   Vanessa 0 Votes
I still get phone calls. They call very early in the morning.The will never leave a message on voicemail or answering machines.Don't tell them about other family members or if you have any credit cards.I will say that it's been a month since I posted and the they seem to call less often.They make it sound like they will big time mess up your credit but I have heard that it really won't.My debit card that I use still has good credit.I no longer write checks.I do know that people have had problems if they write another check at the store they wrote a bad check at.Also I think TRS is used by mainly large retail stores.I wrote bad checks at Walmart and Rite Aid.Got calls about them.However During the time frame that I wrote checks I also wrote one at a local small grocery store.They never called about that one.Ever.So I think small stores don't use them.It has slowly gotten better.
 6th of Jul, 2009 by   Artie Lensh 0 Votes
Is it possible that eletric companies use this TRS system? And this may seem silly are money orders at all like checks?
 10th of Jul, 2009 by   BrownBomber 0 Votes
Yes, this TRS is lousy. My wife was overdrawn on her account and paid the checks. TRS called and my wife explained to them that the checks were paid. TRS kept calling, first thing in the morning (9AM - legal time), regarding payment. Types of companies of the nature, of some, only exist to scam you out of your hard-earned dollars. Anyone, with a small investment can start a company like this and then terrorize the nation. My advice, don't ever deal with a bill collector, only the original creditor. As long as you can make viable arrangements to repay them, (IF OWED), then go ahead and resolve your issue. But, collectors are the vultures who search out primarily dead accounts and try to rip you apart from your money.
 23rd of Jul, 2009 by   MemphianMike 0 Votes
I received about 5 letters trying to collect debts for unpaid checks and electronic transfers. My vehicle was broken into last year and they got personal info and opened up a bogus checking account with my name and address. I am clearing it up with TRS as of today...My frauds were committed at Walmart...TRS told me Walmart is bad about not checking ID for checks and it is happening more frequently.. If you need a number call this lady Denise Hossler 713-331-7730. She is helping me thru this...otherwise the number on the letters you get takes you to automated recordings which was frustrating. Good Luck to all.
 4th of Dec, 2010 by   roxz 0 Votes
TRS Recoveryhas been calling me constantly and I immediately felt this company is a scam. They said I wrote a check to K Mart for like 70 dollars and had insufficient funds. I told them I was not at the store on that date and never write checks out at stores so I immediately thought it was a mistake. Then they insisted that I signed it and my licesnse number was on the check. I asked them for the number and they said they could only give the last 4 digits. It wasn't my licesnse #. Then they proceded to try to get me to give mine to look up info and finally the girl said she needed to look more into their system by using my bank router number and account #. I told them absolutely no way. I checked my accounts and their fine...this company is definately up to no good dont give any info to them they should have that info if the are legit.
 2nd of Mar, 2011 by   Shazi_0143 0 Votes
TRS is diffently up to no good..they have teens it sounds like calling my home asking personal questions.. wanting private information as well, which i certainly won't give out on the phone. Can anyone stop theses folks for calling and if so, share it..Please...There has to be a way to BLOCK them...
 15th of Mar, 2011 by   Dolly LaMaPP 0 Votes
I want to make sure my own story gets heard in every forum possible: this company is scum, and I have told them as much.
December 2010 I was robbed at gunpoint in front of my house in broad daylight. It was a horrible experience, both emotionally (I don't see my lovely, friendly neighborhood in the same light; I'm constantly looking over my shoulder; trouble sleeping, etc.) and logistically (I'm in law school and lost my laptop during final exam period, ended up having to withdraw from all my classes that semester). Telecheck/TRS has been the roughest salt on the wound.
I lost checks in the robbery. The cop who arrived in response to my 911 call immediately had me call my credit union, which is located in Michigan. The agent canceled my debit card, but told me I had to go to a member branch in person to deal with the checks. I told her that was impossible, I was at school in DC, there had to be another way...after some back and forth, the cop got so understandably frustrated (he was still trying to get the details of the crime) that he took the phone and told the agent: "this is Office _, badge #xx. This lady has just been the victim of an armed robbery, including some checks. I trust that you will take care of this." He hung up, I assumed she took care of it. Until a couple days later, when I saw three checks were written in one day (ranging from $50-80) at a local Giant supermarket. I eventually got through to a sympathetic rep at my CU who was able to stop payment on the checks, at least until I visited Michigan over Christmas break, at which point I visited a branch office, closed that account, and was refunded for the forged checks. Within a week, I awoke (pretty sure it was before 9AM) to calls from an unknown number, no voice mail. After the 3rd call in one morning, I realized I had to answer. The caller asked, "is this Jane Doe?" I asked who was calling, she repeated her question. Eventually she said "TRS, " and as soon as I acknowledged that I was Jane Doe, the caller said angrily: "You wrote three checks at Giant and then put a stop payment on them." I thought I would seriously burst a blood vessel, I was so enraged at the accusation. I explained what had happened with the checks. Without softening her tone, she snapped that I would need to provide them with a bunch of documentation, including a notarized affidavit. Bewildered at how I had ANY responsibility to this company--like many of you, I only write checks for rent and to family members, certainly not to Giant (I hadn't even been there in months), and apparently THEIR (Telecheck's) lovely system facilitated a criminal in using my checks as a debit card with no photo ID/ DL #, in fishy circumstances (3 checks at the same store in a day didn't raise a red flag? I feel like I got punished for having such good credit that they extended trust I NEVER wanted! I always appreciate when stores ask for ID, or my CC company puts a hold on my account after unusual circumstances.) I asked if the detective who was working on my case could handle this matter; TRS refused. Since my bank had refunded ME the money, I asked what would happen if I didn't comply with their demands. The caller threatened that I would "never be able to get credit anywhere again." When I returned home after the holidays, I had collections letters waiting for me. I obtained the police report along with a signed letter from my PD saying that they had evidence from store video that I hadn't written the checks. I faxed all that information to TRS, but I did not complete the notarized signature portion. When a (much more polite) TRS person called to remind me that I had omitted that section, I informed her I had jumped through enough hoops for them and drew the line at anything that required me to spend money (the notary). She eventually conceded that I should just fax the signed form. I told her I would do so when I had access to a free fax machine. I haven't done so yet, and I keep getting collections letters. I know that I could make things much easier by just doing what they required in the first place, but I chafe at caving to their bullying tactics. They cannot possibly doubt the clear police documentation requesting that TRS leave me alone? What a racket this company has got going. I don't doubt they'll go down eventually, when they hit some critical mass of egregious behaviour, and have to go up against a tough class action lawyer. But in the meantime, this really, really sucks for consumers who unknowingly are forced to participate in their system (the 1st Telecheck rep told me I couldn't get a list of participating merchants, because EVERYBODY used them), even though it will never help the consumer...but as all our stories show, that system can hurt us plenty.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Best Credit Cards for Big Debt

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?