logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (40 mins ago)
jenna @ about astro.com
reading not received
2. (1 hr 7 mins ago)
Borderlinx
Beware....Perfect Scam
3. (1 hr 21 mins ago)
PTCBank.net
PTCBank.net is fraud.
4. (1 hr 26 mins ago)
Business / Personal Loan Offer
Apply urgent loan offer
5. (1 hr 28 mins ago)
Garcina Cambogia & Digestit (Colon Cleanse')
Unorauthorised Deduction from my Visa Account

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Toshiba Complaints & Reviews - Toshiba sucks!

Toshiba Contacts & Informations

Toshiba

Posted:    mcaldwell

Toshiba sucks!

Complaint Rating:  100 % with 14 votes
Recently I purchased a new widescreen tv, within 6 weeks it broke? After 7 weeks without a tv and Toshiba denying my initial warranty claim I finally had a tv again. Now its broke again imagine that. I contacted Toshiba and they offered me no answers or solutions, SHOCKING HUN. In short I would never buy their products again!
Comments United States Consumer Electronics
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 30th of Sep, 2008 by   Sam 0 Votes
Bought the Toshiba 42" HL167 HDTV and just one month past the one year warrantee the thing stops working, It wont turn on, LED blinks three times but no luck. Like many many other people out there I l have tried all the obvious solutions, they dont work. I'm taking it to a repair shop this week to see what they can do. I will never buy any Toshiba product again. I should have bought a Sony I guess, they were almost the same amount at the time...
 30th of Mar, 2009 by   KH911 0 Votes
I agree. Bought a 32inch regza, had the audacity to not buy the extended warrenty, had the units inverter board fail(after 22 months) which Toshiba has integrated into the lcd panel so it cannot be independently replaced, told it would be $850 to repair. Wrote to Toshiba, they called and told me tough luck. Customer service person would not give me his name or send a confirmatory letter. No pride in their company or products. Will never buy Toshiba again.
 12th of Sep, 2009 by   lorihatestoshiba 0 Votes
Oh me too!!! I bought a 37RV530U Toshiba Regza and have had it since May 2008 - the sticker on the back says manufactured in April 2008, now it's September 2009 and 1st the screen went black, then 3 days later no SOUND either! Rep on phone no help at all, gave me local authorized rep to call and they want $145 to come to my apartment to look at it. Paid $1, 000 for this TV for 15 months of use! Never ever buy another Toshiba product again. I want to put it out on my New York City sidewalk with a big sign on it saying DO NOT BUY TOSHIBA!

So again, based on the comments above - I'm betting I have the same integrated LCD panel problem along with whatever the sound issue is and I'd rather take the $800 or so and buy another TV - NOT TOSHIBA.

Very very disappointing and what a ripoff!!!
 15th of Oct, 2009 by   Hammy82 0 Votes
DO NOT BUY TOSHIBA...THEY ARE A SCAM! I spent $2600 on a Toshiba Regza 42 inch LCD TV. It started making a rattling noise. I spent $400 to get it fixed. And then the screen went BLACK 2 months after! Toshiba reps were USELESS and denied the warranty. They waited to help me until AFTER my warranty was up and said they couldn't do anything because the warranty was over. AND they said they don't even MAKE the part to fix the television.

DONT EVER BUY A TOSHIBA, they dont make parts to fix the TV if it breaks and make faulty screen panels to only last 1 year so you have to buy another TV from them again.
 27th of Nov, 2009 by   alexinvancouver 0 Votes
i bought a flat 52" regza 1080 which started giving up a few months later -
lines started popping up here and there across the screen.
i called their service, they advise me to call some repair shop.
the shop had to order a panel which took exactly 2 weeks, then they picked up
my tv.
week later i called the shop just to find out the part came faulty and they had
to order another one and it'll take two more weeks and after that apparently
it'll take one more week to replace.
i called toshiba canada just to find outeverything going accordingly to "their "protocol"
so, i paid over two thousand dollars just to watch a picture on the wall???
i used mitsubishi tv's before and u can bet i will never buy any product from toshiba again.
ever!
don't deal with toshiba!!!
 6th of Dec, 2009 by   Ed. KUESTNER 0 Votes
TOSHIBA BEST BUY and COMCAST. Working together to defraud the consumer.

A CHRISTMAS gift I will never forget. My new TOSHIBA REGZA 42 inch sends out A signial that disables the cable box. That is what my comcast tec. said. I called Toshiba, thay admitted there is A problem. But there is nothing they could do. i called Best Buy and thay refused to take back the TV. Toshiba blames Comcast, Comcast blames Toshiba, Best buy treated me like dirt. neather one understands customer service.
At this point I would like to CONK THERE HEADS TOGETHER. COMCAST I understand, Thay are the greediest company in AMERICA !
Nothing I can do. thay are the only cable co. in my area. BEST BUY, Famous for the way thay mistreet people. TOSHIBA, How do thay expect to sell faulty electronic equipment and keep A good reputation. NEVER AGAIN !

Ed. Kuestner
PHILADELPHIA, Pa.
 17th of Dec, 2009 by   trulee pist 0 Votes
Buy a $2, 100+ Toshiba Laptop, Spend 3 ½ Years Sending It to Toshiba Repair Depots Eight Times, and Wind Up with Inoperable Laptop and Offer of $700.32 to Shut Up and Go Away

6/8/2006, I bought a laptop from Toshiba Direct for $2, 139, and paid Toshiba Direct something extra for a 2-year extended warranty. The laptop failed in a week (blue screen of death). I sent it to repair, as directed, 8 times in 3 years. It has never been operable. This junker, Serial #66058553W, sits on my desk today, unable to turn on or operate.

Despite following instructions from Toshiba Customer Service, I am unable to get them to deliver me a computer in working order. I have had effectively no use of a $2, 139 computer. Requested replacement after 3rd repair under warranty failed in 12/2006. Denied, told to send to repair depot again. 6/30/2007, requested replacement as computer still did not work after one year of repeated failed repair efforts. Denied. Computer always comes back with same problem: Turn it on, it turns itself off, turns itself on, turns itself off, etc., about a dozen times, then goes to blue screen of death.

After 4th Toshiba Repair Depot failure, in July 2007, was told by Customer Service Toshiba "could not" replace unless Repair Depot declared it "uneconomical to repair." Repair Depot refuses to declare it so. Customer Service sighs, “Unfortunately, that means our hands our tied. We cannot replace it without that declaration from Repair Depot.”

Told to send it to Nexicore, Toshiba’s “top of the line, VIP repair depot.” 2 more failures to repair, at Nexicore.

Now Toshiba says it is responsibility of Extended Warranty company to replace computer, and Extended Warranty company says it is up to Toshiba to repair. Both deny responsibility.

John Kelly (1-888-598-7801, TCRC@tais.toshiba.com), Corp CR SrCM, Executive Referrals at Toshiba America Information Systems Inc. emailed me on 12/10/2009, and made a "Final Offer" ultimatum--take $700.32, or give Nexicore one final chance to repair, with no recourse if repair fails a 9th time. Threatened to put notes in my file instructing Customer Service about "Final Offer" and telling them to do nothing more for me. Then he did so.

Toshiba failed to repair and refused to replace the junker while under warranty, Repair Depot refuses to declare "uneconomical to repair, " especially now that the most recent failures to repair occurred at Nexicore, thus blocking Customer Service from authorizing replacement, and neither local Authorized Repair, nor Repair Depot, nor Nexicore could repair it, despite 8 opportunities. Toshiba Direct cannot deliver a working laptop, nor repair it so it does work, but they can set up a complicated circle of divisions and separate companies to avoid responsibility.

Toshiba WILL NOT stand behind its product, even if you buy it from Toshiba Direct.
 24th of Jan, 2010 by   rhuther 0 Votes
TOSHIBA Regza 52XF550U purchased 7-20-08 and LCD panel shot and out of warranty12-20-09. Disappointed that Toshiba will not stand behind their product. 2500.00 TV and 6months out of warranty. Seems hard to believe that they would not want to replace this defective panel to maintain good will as I have been a loyal Toshiba customer for years with other TVs, VCRs and computers. I am reluctant to look at their products in the future.
 3rd of Feb, 2010 by   DerekTheGreat 0 Votes
Same issues with my laptop. It pisses me off so bad I won't even talk about it.

Toshiba is terrible. Thank you Japan. Thank you.
 16th of Jun, 2010 by   I HATE TOSHIBA 4LIFE 0 Votes
NEVER BUY ANY TOSHIBA PRODUCTS EVER! I HAD ISSUES WITH A SATELLITE LAPTOP AND THEN AN ENDLESS MESS OF TROUBLE WITH A 62" DLP. NEITHER PRODUCT LASTED MORE THAN 2 YEARS - AND EACH ONE WAS A HUGE FINANCIAL INVESTMENT. TOSHIBA COULD CARE LESS THAT THEY OFFE A WHOLE PRODUCT LINE OF WORTHLESS ELECTRONICS. AT LEAST NOW I CAN ELIMINATE TOSHIBA AS AN OPTION WHEN BUYING ELECTRONICS IN THE FUTURE.
 11th of Nov, 2010 by   sphornet 0 Votes
purchased a 52 inch DLP in 2005 for $2500. also purchased an additional 4 year warranty and a 3 year warranty on the bulb for $400. So I am $2900 dollars into this POS. well 5 years go by and the tv does not work. toshiba couldn't care less even though DLP from 2005 was a big problem. there was a class action lawsuit. toshiba is fine with selling people a product that barely last 5 years. I use the warranty extensively during the first 4 years and no i am SOL. thanks a lot toshiba. oh and i heard their computers suck too. i will never buy a toshiba product again.
 16th of Nov, 2010 by   JULIUS MULLIS 0 Votes
I BOUGHT A 62 INCH POS FROM HH GREGG WHICH IN ITSELF WAS A MISTAKE. BOUGHT SAID POS IN 2006 AND IT HAS NOT WORKED FOR I COMPLETE YEAR SINCE I BOUGHT IT.SO FAR I HAVE HAD 4 BULBS REPLACED (2 OF WHICH I PAID OUT OF POCKET) AND HAD TO BUY A NEW LIGHT MOTOR. HAD TO WAIT 10 MONTHS FOR REBUILT LIGHT MOTOR AND NOW THE BULB IS GONE AGAIN.ALL YOU GET FROM TOSHIBA IS A LINE OF B.S. AND NO HELP.I HAVE SAVED SEVERAL FRIENDS FROM MAKING MY MISTAKE AND I WILL NEVER BUY TOSHIBA AGAIN.
 16th of Nov, 2010 by   JULIUS MULLIS 0 Votes
SOMEONE SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE SHODDY TREATMENT BY TOSHIBA AND THE LACK OF CARING ABOUT THEIR PRODUCT. I HOPE PEOPLE WILL SPREAD THE WORD ABOUT THEIR LOUSY PRODUCT!!!
 29th of Nov, 2010 by   BrendiniOne 0 Votes
I have a Toshiba laptop that is less than a year old. I sent it in for warranty work. The power jack is loose inside the computer. It was returned to me 2 weeks later with a note that said NO TROUBLE FOUND as per Elizabeth - Tech ID EXD2. Nothing had been done at all to repair the jack. I called customer service that day and was given a case number and told that customer relations would call me the next day. Five days later, I called back and was given a different case number and told that someone would contact me on Monday. No call on Monday. I called back and got another case number, but this time was transferred to the customer relations department. After waiting on hold for 48 minutes, I spoke to someone who told me I could try sending it back in and let them look at it again. I declined and asked if she had a supervisor. She said she was the highest escalation possible and asked if I'd like to lodge a complaint. I did. I can only believe that Toshiba collects lodged complaints like some people collect stamps. I'm sure they serve no purpose. I will never -ever- buy another Toshiba product.
 21st of Dec, 2010 by   David Y 0 Votes
Bought a Toshiba Regza 37RV530U about 5/2008 - paid $1000. 30 months later, screen went black this morning. Still have sound. Call their 800 number but no help other than refer me to local service shop. Reading prior comments sounds like I shouldn't even bother. Had a 32 HDTV from Vizio that this was supposed to be an upgrade to. Had many prior cheaper brands and have NEVER had any TV fail on me, much less in about 2 years. I guess I will never buy another Toshiba product ever again.
 14th of Jan, 2011 by   Coppington13 0 Votes
My Toshiba LCD Television model 22AV500U failed after two and a half months. Has sound only...no picture. The TV would have to be sent to Massachusets for repair. I was questioned as to whether this was a refurbished model since it was manufactured in 2008 but not sold until Oct. 2010 through Buy.com. Not happy, and unlikely to buy another Toshiba. Had a bunch of Toshiba laptops at work; nothing but problems with these too. And this is a highly ranked brand???
 1st of Feb, 2011 by   JCof 0 Votes
Purchased a 37 inch Tosiba Jan. 21 of 2010, after just three months started having intermitent audio issues, after six attemps, three of them being to replace the main board (I'm suppose to believe this crap ) 2 days before my 1 year warranty ended, the TV started powering off on its own, was told by one tech it had to be the power inverter, told by another it was the main board and they would replace it again, I believe Toshiba and this repair shop are running a scam, on me as well as several other people, DO NOT BUY TOSHIBA ! JUNK, and CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS OUTLOUD !
 14th of Mar, 2011 by   Chris222 0 Votes
Everyone please contact this law firm, they are working on a class action suit for those rotten Regzas.

http://www.findjustice.com/sub/Toshiba-Regza.jsp

Thanks.
 17th of Mar, 2011 by   ydnar 0 Votes
We purchased a 37 inch Toshiba TV (model 37 10800LCD HDTV) in early dec. 2010. On February 16, 2011 the screen went blank but still had audio. Contacted toshiba customer service and was referred to a local "authorized" repair dealer. Took the TV there and after 2 weeks was told the panel needed replacing. The repair was authorized by toshiba, who then cancelled the order for the parts on two separate occassions, failing to tell their dealer that they had opted to replace the TV. They claimed they did not have a current e-mail address for their "authorized" repair agent.
After much effort on my poart we finally were able to talk to somebody at toshiba canada who was not affiliated with their customer call centre. Was assured that a new TV would be sent by courier to the repair depot and that delivery could be expected in 1 to 2 weeks. This was on March 7, 2011. I contacted toshiba canada on that date and informed them that a two week delivery timeframe was unaccepatable. Was assured we would have a new TV in 3 to 5 days. Today, March 17, 2011 we were advised that a new TV had arrived. Customer service at toshiba canada is at best shoddy and at worst non existant. By the way toshiba canada maintains its customer service call centre in Iowa. Anyone else have this experience? The President of toshiba canada is Ralph Hyatt and his e-mail address is 'ralph.hyatt@toshiba.ca' . Contact him if you have a problem. It seems to be the only way to get some action from toshiba.
 3rd of Apr, 2011 by   Gary Dee 0 Votes
All LCD Toshiba Flat Screen TV's - Save your money for a better brand. First, one line of dead pixels across the bottom, 3 months later then two. About the same time, the sound started degrading. Two more months, now flickering; top half screen dark, bottom bright - flicker, flicker. A total waste of money. I have had two Toshiba laptops and was impressed with the build, and even a Toshiba 32” Tube TV lasted 8 years, not too bad. – Apparently the LCD-TV division quality is sub-par at best. Big issues with the screens. Save yourself the aggravation. Less than 2.5 years of use; 48" Regza. No support from the factory after warranty.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Twitter Hack

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?