logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (10 mins ago)
buy-hgh-growth-hormone.com
fake website
2. (15 mins ago)
Survivinginfidelity.com
A very dangerous place for those trying to heal in a positive way
3. (16 mins ago)
Allactionhost.com
no service provide
4. (19 mins ago)
AdultWholesaledirect.com
Please avoid this web site
5. (20 mins ago)
Venus.com
Unfortunately they run a shady business

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Kennedi Auto Sales Complaints & Reviews - Fraud and cheating

Kennedi Auto Sales Contacts & Informations

Kennedi Auto Sales

Posted:    Liza

Fraud and cheating

Complaint Rating:  92 % with 64 votes
Contact information:
Kennedi Auto Sales
United States
jimkennedyautos.com
I bought a car from Kennedi's on February 6, 2009. It was my first car and I loved it. At the time of purchase, I was told that I had to bring $400 back on March 6, 2009. Two hundred was for my sales tax and the other two was for the rest of my down payment.

My papers said that I had to bring the money back on the 20th of February 2009, but the young lady that did my paperwork kept telling me to bring the money in thirty days. Constantly she repeated bring it in thirty days. Now I had been over to the dealership to have my car worked multiple times after I had bought it.
I was over there on the 20th of February 2009. He asked me if I owed him anything, I told him no not until the 6th of March 2009. I returned to Kennedi's on March 5, 2009, to pick my mother up. She was getting her car worked on on this day. He said nothing about my payments being late than either. When I took my mother back to get her car, he would not give her back her car.

There were some words exchanged between the young lady, my mother, and me while we were there. During this time he tried to repossess my car, but I told him he was not taking my car because he had no grounds to take it on. Well he lat me drive my car home and than turned around and repossessed my at 3:47 am on March 6, 2009 when my actual payment was due.

I had to call the secretary of state's office and let them what happened. I also found out that it was on him to collect all monies (including down payments and sales taxes) at the time of purchase, he also supposed to register my car immediately after that. But I was told that he broke the law of Illinois by not doing so. So now I have to file a complaint report with the state of police, and it will be about a week before they look at it.

Now I am out of a car and my $500 down payment because he broke the law. In order to get my car he wants $650, part of the money was for sales tax and the rest was for repo fees. Which I am not responsible for, because he illegally repossessed my car. So whatever you do, don't buy a car from them.
Comments United States Car Dealers
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 3rd of Jan, 2010 by   Acheeney 0 Votes
The same thing happen to me, I purchased a car from Kennedi auto sale and at the time the check engine light was on an they promised to fix it asap and for free. I return to kennedi several times to get the vehicle worked on but everytime I made it home the check engine light was back on. Autozone told me that kennedis was jus clearing the code and not fixing the problem. One day I complained to the manager about the car and he started to reposses the car for the sales tax money that he said I owed him. They never fix my car problem, but the repossed my car and charged me $700 to get my car back. A month after having my car I found out that the problem was the cadalac converter and it costed $800 dallors to get fixed. Mind you this is only about a month after i got the car. They told me they could not fix the car, even though they advertise free labor! Later my car was reposesed! But they never fixed the check engine light when they promised!
 18th of Jan, 2010 by   Sexually harrassed secretary +1 Votes
Mr. Fults, owner of American Motors, Inc. and all of the Kennedi Auto Sales lots scams individuals and taxpayers out of every dime he gets his hands on. When u pay in cash for repairs etc. at one of these lots the money goes directly into his pocket and then his safe. Mr. Fults is a womanizer who has traveled the world spending hundreds of thousands of dollars on mail order brides and every other woman who is foolish enough to be bought by his money and his lies. He has several employees who are paid cash under the table. These employees are on disability, social security etc. He also allows employees who have child support payments to collect a partial pay check while paying the rest under the table in order for their child support payments to be lower. He does this himself as well with his own ex wife and children. Do NOT pay cash to these car lots and if you do, you are well advised to get a receipt and hold onto it. It will make it more difficult for him to scam and cheat on paying his taxes. ALWAYS GET A RECEIPT. Also, the warranty that is offered is a scam too. He offers to pay labor while u pay for parts. Or vice versa, I am not sure but it all comes out to where he is out no money or still ends up profiting. Also, every car that is sold, is sold with a device on it. It is illegal for this to be done without making this aware to the customer. Make sure you ask if there is a locating device on the vehicle and if they say yes, then there must be paperwork informing u of this. If they say 'no' then they are probably lying. Along with the fact that half of his salesmen do not have drivers liscense' and have drug relatated problems. Deals are made on his lots. He gets on his employees once every few months about it but knows he has no control over it so turns his head for the most part. This also applies to most of the other lots in the area. Devices, cash payments, cash under the table etc. As for the vehicles sold, they do all do their best to purchase and sell good vehicles. They are just as disappointed to see you pull up or walk up with a complaint about your car as you are. It is just very hard to buy a car even for them knowing for sure that there is no hidden problems with it. Also, you may want to be advised that the down payment that is asked for on 95% of the cars on camp jackson is what they have invested in the car. Thats how it works down there. If you were to go and offer 500 cash over what is the asking price of the down payment, they will more than likely sell the car to you for that price. But be advised that many cars are sold and reposessed over and over and there are many vehicles on the lot that they have absolutely nothing invested in. You should ask questions about how long the vehicle has been on the lot (not that they will tell you the truth) but they just might slip. Perhaps you could ask to see their invoice on when the car was purchased without asking to see the purchase price. It will atleast give u some idea maybe. Alot of times during the slow months they will sneak a 2 week balance of down payment down on your paperwork without pointing it out to you leading u to believe that u have a full month. Please read ur paperwork before signing. Also, they change their finance charge on a daily basis and it is very sad but true that they judge your looks and ur charactor. If you don't look like a very educated person then they will stick a very high finance charge on you knowing that u won't notice and the majority of the poor people don't. There is much much more to this story. But, I'll leave u with this for now. Beware of Camp Jackson Rd. and the Kennedis in Freeburg and Fairview.
 9th of Feb, 2010 by   RedSmart1 +3 Votes
Thank you, I was looking up their website and came across this website. After reading your complaints I will NOT be looking to buy from them.
 25th of Mar, 2010 by   Mrs Rod +1 Votes
I bought a car from Kennedis and the first problem I had was that the sunroof didnt work. They promised they would fix it until they found out it would cost $1000. At that time they offered to knock $500 off purchase price. But everytime I made a pymt the $500 was not taken off and they would have to "check into it". Not one person seems to know what the other is doin or promising to do.
Now after having the car for 9 months, the transmission went out. Kennedis tell me they can get a different transmission dropped in it for "$1000 or less" stated it would take a week. It has now been a month, my car is at American motors in Cahokia I am told and i get nothing but run around. After a month i am told it hasnt even been started on and they are rebuilding transmission in it and will be at LEAST $1600... I agreed to none of this and cannot get anybody to help me get my car back...no one returns my calls in spite of promises to do so...dont even know what to do now... Thinkin I should get a lawyer...
 29th of Jun, 2010 by   JJ33 +3 Votes
The Belleville store is awesome! :)
 1st of Jul, 2010 by   RLMcKinlely 0 Votes
This has nothing to do with this complaint, but I have a request. Your stations each fly a beautiful, very large, American Flag. Would you please tell the manufacturer of these flags to use four (4) grommets on those large flag? . The three(3) grommets are just not enough to fly these very large flags. With only three grommets the flag tends to drag, look limp and really look bad sometimes. I realize you probably pay a thousand dollars or more for the flag at each location, so it is not practical to get new flags. Perhaps there is a way to put four equally spaced grommets on your existing flags. Your supplier is selling these large flags with only three grommets. Get them to start using four grommets. Thank you very much. I am a WW II and Korean veteran .
 18th of Sep, 2010 by   jjmm 0 Votes
I brought a car from Kennedi auto sales in belleville, il on the 9/1/2010 and the check engine light was on and he told me that he would fix it for free and when i bring my car up there he told me to come tomorrowwhich was on 9/2/2010 cause he had alot of car up there and now and when i brought the car up there to get fix on the 9/6/2010 that did not do anything to my car it was the same way check engine light was on and it was driveing slow so i had call them to to tell them that my car was still acting the same the first time i call they say he was with a someone and 10 min later i call back they the lady on the phone that work up there told me that he was gone they is full of shit and just want your money i'm going to sue that ass.
 4th of Oct, 2010 by   Misty83 +1 Votes
THOSE PEOPLE AT KENNEDI AUTO SALESARE JUNKIES!!! ESPECIALLY DENNIS!!! THE WANNA BE MAIN MAN!!! HE WILL SELL YOU THE WORLD TO GET YOU TO PURCHASE ONE OF THOSE FUCxxx UP VEHICLES. THEN THEY PROMISE TO FIX SHIT AND LIKE SOMEONE ELSE STATED THEY HATE TO SEE YOU PULL UP TO THE LOT MORE THAN YOU HATE PULLING UP YOURSELF WITH A COM[PLAINT!!! THEY DONT FIX ANYTHING THAT THEY CLAIM TO AND WILL TELL YOU REPEATEDLY TO COME BACK ALL WHILE THE VEHICLE IS GETTING WORSE. THE SKINNY ASS CHICK SITTING AT THE DESK NEEDS TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL. THE ADDICT WHO CLAIMS TO BE THE MECHANIC NEEDS TO REPORT TO THE NEAREST REHAB FACILITY AND SO DOES THE GUY WHO DRIVES AROUND ALL DAY WITH THE GREEN TEETH. THE ONLY ONE I BELIEVE TO HAVE SOME SENCE IS JIM. WHOEVER OWNS THIS COMPANY NEED TO TAKE HEED TO THE FACT THAT THE NEPHEW IS RUNNING A SCARY YET ILLEGAL OPERARTION.
 14th of Oct, 2010 by   Car Buyer Happy +2 Votes
Difference of Oppinion

Most of the complaints on these forums should be investigated in the same detail as the complaints themselves force potential buyers to question the business practices of said dealer. With that being said I med a man named Dan Gardner at the Fairview Heights lot (fairly new I presume), and my experience was quite different. Not only was he flexible for the payments and down payment options, but he offered us to test drive it for hours instead of minutes and encouraged us to take it to any garage and have it checked. There were a few minor things wrong with the vehicle (as is with the majority of used cars eventually!), but he actually had them fixed immediately and took 1000 dollars off the price without my even asking. I don't know about the aforementioned complaints as I was not there but since I did not see Dan's name there I am asking that you give the guy a shot. Talk with him openly about your limitations and watch him change your mind about ALL used car dealers.
 26th of Oct, 2010 by   KENNEDI'S R RIPOFFS +1 Votes
KENNEDI'S ARE ALL SCREW BALLS, IVE HAD I KNOW 15 PEOPLE TELL ME TO NOT GO THERE, BUT I NEEDED A CAR FAST AND I TOOK MY CHANCES, I BAUGHT THE CAR FROM THEM ON A FRIDAY NIGHT WITH THE PROMISE OF PUTING BRAKES AND ROTORS ON SINCE THE BRAKES WERE SO BAD THE LIGHT WAS ON AND IT WAS SOUNDED HORRIBLE, HAD NO REAR VIEW MIRROR, BUSTED BELT IN THE TIRE, SO THAT WAS ALL MANAGEABLE, I WAS TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO GET ALL THE REPAIRS DONE, AND THAT WAS COOL TO ME.MY HUSBAND BAUGHT THE CAR WHILE I WAS AT WORK, HE CAME THERE AND PICKED ME UP WITH IT, WE WENT HOME AND THE NEXT MORNING WE WERE HEADED TO BELLEVILLE, STOPPED AT QUICK TRIP TO PUT GAS IN IT AND STARTED IT, CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK, CALLED EM AND SOME KID TOOK OFF THE SHIFTER AND USED A POCKET KNIFE, SO THAT WHAT I HAD TO DO TO GET THE CAR OUT OF PARK EVERYTIME, THEY TOLD ME TO COME UP THERE MONDAY AND THEY WOULD FIX IT, WELL BY THAT MONDAY, IT WASNT JUST THE BREAKS, REAR VIEW MIRROR AND TIRE, IT WAS ALL THAT PLUS ENGINE LIGHT, WINDOW WOULDNT ROLL DOWN, THE SHIFTER, AND THAN THE CAR LOST POWER, EVERY TIME I TURNED MY WHEEL, IT POPPED LIKE THE WHOLE FRONT END WAS ABOUT TO FALL OFF, AND THE WHOLE CAR SHOOK, AND WAS OVER HEATING, SO I TOOK IT UP THERE, SOME KID TEST DROVE IT, HE ASKED ME TO RIDE WITH, I GOT IN WITH HIM AND HE FLOORS IT, 50 THROUGH TOWN THAN HIT 80 AND SLAMMED THE BRAKES ON TO SEE IF THEY WERE STUCK TURNS AROUND AND FLOORS IT AGAIN AND DOES IT AGAIN MAKES A SHARP U TURN WHILE STILL GOING PRETTY QUICK AND MY FRONT ENDS POPPIN AWAY HE COMES BACK UP TO THE HIGHWAY, NO CARS SO RUNS THE STOP SIGN, HITS THE HIGHWAY AND FLOORS, FLIES INTO TOWN UP ON A CARS ASS, AND SLAMS THE BREAKS ON RIDING IT, DOES EVEN SLOW DOWN AS HES PULLING BACK INTO THE LIGHT THAN GO TO THE SIDE OF BUILDING, CUTS THE WHEEL REAL HARD AND PULLS UP THE E BRAKE, WE GET OUT AND HE TOLD ME IT WAS THE CATALITIC CONVERTER, AFTER I TOLD HIM THAT I THAUGHT IT COULD HAVE BEEN THAT CAUSE THATS WHAT MY OTHER CAR WAS WHEN IT LOST POWER, THAN THEY BLEW ME OFF ABOUT EVERYTHING ELSE, AND HE SAID IT JUST GETS HOT BUT THE FAN WILL KICK ON, YEA LIKE I DONT KNOW WHEN A CARS OVER HEATING EVERY TIME I LEAVE THE HOUSE AND HAVE TO FILL IT UP WITH WATER 3, 4 TIMES, SO I WAS LIKE I THINK ITS HOT NOW, HES LIKE NO THATS MY CIG. SMOKE I WAS LIKE NO MOVE YOUR CIGARETTE, RIGHT THAN THE WATER STARTED GURGLING AND RUNNIN OUT AND AND SOUNDIN LIKE SOMETHIN WAS BEATIN UP THE INSIDE OF THE RADIATOR, SO THEY WAIT THAN ADD WATER AND HE TELLS ME THE FAN JUST AINT KICKIN ON SOON ENOUGH SO IF I TURN MY AC ON IT WILL KICK THE FAN ON AND COOL IT OFF, RIGHT...SERIOUSLY HOW DUMB, 90 DEGREE WEATHER, THE AC WILL JUST PULL OFF THE ONLY COOL AIR ON THE ENGINE, TURNIN THE HEAT ON IS WHAT U DO WHEN IT OVER HEATS TO HELP PELL THE HEAT OFF, SO ANYWAYS, HE SENT ME ON MY WAY, I THIS THE MONDAY AFTER THE FRIDAY I BAUGHT IT, NOW WE ARE AVOIDING DRIVING THIS CAR WE JUST BAUGHT THREE DAYS AGO CAUSE I DONT WANNA SE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SO WERE PAYIN PEOPLE TWICE THE GAS TO GET BACK AND FORTH, CARS SITTIN, THAT THURSDAY I USED IT TO TAKE MY HUSBAND TO WORK CAUSE HE COOULDNT MISS, IT STARTS TO GET HOT SO I WAIT FOR IT TO COOL DOWN, FILL IT WITH WATER AND FILL UP SOME JUGS AND HEAD HOME, 3 BLOCKS AND ITS HOT AGAIN SO I DID THE SAME THING, THAN MADE IT A COUPLE MILES AND IT OVER HEATED AGAIN, I ADDED WATER, WATCHING THE GAUGE, AND THE GAUGE WAS FINE THAN AS IM DRIVING IT CUT DOWN AND DIED...I KNEW RIGHT AWAY, SO I CALLED THEM HE GO'S OFF, WE GO UP THERE TO TALK TO THEM THE NEXT DAY AND GIVE THEM THE KEYS, THE DUDE STARTS SCREAMIN AT MY HUSBAND AND CUSSING AT HIM TELLING HIM HE TOLD ME NOT TO DRIVE IT, HE DIDNT SAY NO SUCH THING, HE TOLD ME TO TURN THE AC ON TO COOL IT DOWN, AND HOW STUPID FOR HIM TO SAY HE TOLD ME TO PARK THE NEW CAR I JUST BAUGHT, YEA SO THEY JUST TOLD ME I HAVE TO PAY FOR A NEW ENGINE AND MY PAYMENT BEFORE THEY WILL DO ANYHTHING WITH THE CAR, WHY WOULD I PUT ANOTHER $1000 IN THIS CAR WHEN I JUST PUT ALMOST THAT TO GET IT AND BARELY DROVE IT, THEY SHOULD HAVE CHECKED THIS STUFF, IVE BEEN TO ALOT OF CAR LOTS (BUY HERE PAY HERE) AND MOST FIX THEIR CARS UP TO SELL THEM, NOT THEM SOME LOTS POT UP TO $1500 OR LIKE INSTA CREDIT THEY DO UP TO $4OOO, I AM NOT EXPECTING IT TO RUN LIKE A BRAND NEW CAR, BUT TO RUN AT ALL WOULD HAVE BEEN ENOUGH, THEY ARE LIARS AND WILL TELL YOU ANYTHING TO GET YOU TO SIGN THOSE PAPERS THAN YOU AINT SHIT, I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY DO TO STAY OPEN BUT ITS SOMETHING CAUSE EVERYTIME KENNEDIS IS BRAUGHT UP, WHO EVER HEARS THE NAME HAS A STORY OR TWO ABOUT THEIR BS RIP OFFS AND SCANDLOUS SHIT
 17th of Dec, 2010 by   pacecar +2 Votes
if your stupid enough not to listen to some one tells you not to drive the car bring it back monday it would be fixed.two weeks later they called and said it broke down on the side of the road .we picked it up, they drove this car out of water and fried the motor.it would have been fixed and no problem but when you wont, cant or not smart enough to not drive a car hot.ALL I CAN SAY IS YOU CANT FIX STUPID.
 5th of May, 2011 by   7192 0 Votes
I bought a car from kennedys in collinsville, so far no major problems with the car, there was one time where i thought oil was leaking and it turned to be window washer fluid. i took it in to have it looked at, and came back a few hours later to pick it up and the mechanics told me they jus pulled it in and they have not even got a chance to look at it. when i went in to pay my payment the boss had told me they jacked it up and looked under it and saw no problem, when the mechanics already told me they havent even got a chance to look at it. i was also promised warranty and a reduction on my down payment and got neither. my car does run really well, but my next car will definatly NOT be from them.
 4th of Jun, 2012 by   EDC2014 -1 Votes
Just like Redsmart1, I was looking up(Kennedi Auto Sales), and came across this. There are enough fly-by-night used car lots in this town as it is. Maybe it's time for Channel 2 or 4 to get in and investigate!
 4th of Jul, 2012 by   Bunker Boy +1 Votes
I have bought 4 vehicles from Kennedi Auto Sales in Collinsville and have never had a problem. Further, I've recommended friends to buy from Kennedi and THEY haven't had any problems. It's too bad people don't ever speak of good experiences - but will sceam about anything when things don't go their way. Go see Scotty at Kennedi and you'l enjoy your experience
 9th of Aug, 2012 by   Suspicious?? 0 Votes
I saw their commercial and was going to look at their cars in the a.m. but not now. Something is rotten when u have this many complaints. Shame on you, I will inform all my friends and family to stay away from your shady business.
 28th of Sep, 2012 by   Kitty Steel +1 Votes
I bought a 1999 Contour from this place. The car drove great for six months exactly. I had the transmission fluid and radiator flushed for winter. It was found the car had been doctored to make it run so good. After this I put money in the car till I was almost broke. Got tired of it, quit paying on it and told them to come and get it. They refused to come and get it because the car wasn't worth picking up. This was in 2010, it is 2012 and this piece of junk is still in my driveway. I have resorted to legal actions to get my money back and for them to pick the piece of junk up. Do not purchase a doggy cart for this place. Terrible cars and business practices.
 17th of Oct, 2012 by   2012student +2 Votes
I went to Collinsville, after Cahokia took my money. Collinsville gave me a great deal after hearing my story about Cahokia> my vehicle runs great still and its been 2 years.
 20th of Oct, 2012 by   Amberrose +1 Votes
I myself got a lump some of money and went to kennedis and I put $5000 down on a 2007 saab still owed $2500, within the first week I got it the motor blower for the heat went out, they wouldnt fix it, then my two children and I were driving down the interestate the computer system went crazy and all four doors flew open by themselves. We all could of died, stil I called kennedi and nothing!! THey refused to help and it was also within the 30 day marker. Then the whole inside computer system kept going crazy my steering wheel clicked everytime it was turned. I ended up trading it in and that was within two months of putting 5000 down on it and the company I traded it to wouldnt even give me 1500 trade in value!! Kennedi auto sales needs to be shut down for good!!!
 2nd of Jan, 2013 by   Monica30 0 Votes
Kennedi Auto in Belleville is. Scam!!! I am a single mother who put all her money into getting a car from this dealer, I didn't even have the car for a yr when it broke down on me and they said it was my fault. I will be taking them to court to try and get my money back!!! I WOULD NEVER GO THERE OR TELL OTHERS TO NEVER!!!
 10th of Jan, 2013 by   mrobb 0 Votes
I got a car from kennedi on Dec 12 and the next day the check engine light came on then it started smelling like it was leaking gas. Then i had to keep putting power steering fluid in it every 3 days. Then it started running hot .I called them and they said they will fix it but I gotta pay for parts. I had a friend come by and check it out and he says well u need a power steering pump, a fuel pump a fuel filter and well take this car back u need a new motor . As he was telling me what I need it cuts off and never started back up. I called them to tell them to come pick this crap up. I'm not paying for nothing haven't even had the car 2 weeks .So please please hear my cry DO NOT buy a car from these scam artists I repeat PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT buy a car from them because they are full of it

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Federal Government Job Fraud

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?