logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Geoholiday Starpoint Geo Holiday
Timeshare Fraud
2. (13 mins ago)
Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD)
Illegal construction
3. (14 mins ago)
Shine Your Career
JOB SCAM / FRAUD
4. (17 mins ago)
Shinemycareer
Shinemycareer complaint
5. (45 mins ago)
Business / Personal Loan Offer
Apply urgent loan offer

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

GE Front-loading washer (model #WCVH6800J1WW), Nevada Complaints & Reviews - defective washer

GE Front-loading washer (model #WCVH6800J1WW) Contacts & Informations

GE Front-loading washer (model #WCVH6800J1WW)

Posted:    Chrintz

defective washer

Complaint Rating:  100 % with 43 votes
Contact information:
GE & Home Depot
Nevada
United States
On December 30, 2008 my husband and I purchased a brand new GE Front-loading washer (model #WCVH6800J1WW) and dryer set. These arrived on January 6, 2009. This washing machine broke down in the middle of the fifth load, not even 12 hours after delivery. When we called the brick & mortar Home Depot store that we purchased the GE washing machine and dryer set from we were informed that Home Depot does not exchange or allow returns of all appliances and that we had to go through GE to settle this dispute. After performing all the trouble shooting tips in the manual we called GE “Customer Relations” and after spending approximately 2 hours on the phone with GE “Customer Relations” on January 7, 2009 the GE representative finally agreed to schedule a repair visit for Friday, January 9, 2009 between the hours of 8am to 12pm.

On January 9, 2009 a GE repairman came to our house and told us that the motor burnt out. This is the first half day of wages lost due to our being shipped defective GE merchandise. The repairman and GE customer service do not deny that we were sold defective merchandise, neither does Home Depot. Yet, neither Home Depot nor GE will exchange our defective washing machine for a functioning one. The weekend following the arrival of the defective machine Home Depot sold us it cost us $23 to wash our laundry at the laundry mat, not to mention the wasted time. It’s hard to believe that we have a brand, new GE $700+ washing machine sitting in our house.

Originally the second repair visit was scheduled for Friday, January 16, 2009. We called GE “Customer Relations” on January 9, 2009 and spoke with Candice to get expedited shipping on the washing machine parts. One would think that if GE insists upon saddling your customers with defective merchandise then it would at least speed up the repair process instead of acting to prolong it. The repairman came out for a second (this is also the second, half day of lost wages) time on January 14, 2009 and installed the new motor. Guess what? The defective GE washing machine sold to us by Home Depot is still NOT working. The second repairman claims that the problem is the computer that runs the motor. And, with all this Home Depot still insists that appliances are non-returnable nor is an exchange permissible. GE failed to order the part or schedule a third repair visit on January 14, 2009. After spending hours on the phone and arguing with “GE Customer Relations” on January 15, 2009 we were asked to call back at 6:30pm eastern time. When we did as asked we learned that GE “Customer Relations” closes at 6:00pm eastern time-what a neat little trick to play on consumers. On January 16, 2009 I spoke with a Ms. Adams who said that she was a manager. Ms. Adams informed me and my husband during two separate phone calls the part will arrive on Tuesday, January 20, 2009 as Monday was a holiday and that the repairman was scheduled to arrive and install the part between 8am and 12pm on Wednesday, January 21. My husband took a third half day off work and the GE repairman never showed up. When he called GE he was informed that no service visit was ever scheduled and that the part had not even left the warehouse.

This brings us to another point of frustration. Despite repeatedly spelling my husband’s last name to GE representatives, none of these people are capable of entering the proper spelling. Due to the GE representatives misspelling of our last name and their continual failing to fix this mistake after repeatedly being told the proper spelling we have not been able to verify the “scheduled” repair visits online. It would be great if this could finally be fixed for future warranty issues, which I am sure we have plenty of.

On January 21, 2009 after no GE repairman showed up we called GE “Customer Relations” yet again to see what the status of our repair was. Angela was the representative spoken to this time. Angela informed us that the part was shipped to the warehouse but that the part still had not left the warehouse. When asked why that was since we were told that there was a repair visit scheduled for that morning. All she could tell us was that she could not contact the warehouse because “something is going on there.” Then Angela proceeded to say that there was nothing else she could tell us about the part. When questioned as to why that was since we had called multiple times the previous week she transferred us to Shaniqua, the manager of the Monogram department. Shaniqua informed us that for some unknown reason the inverter was on hold at GE’s warehouse and that there was no way for her to get information about why the part was on hold or when the part would ship. Shaniqua also informed us that there was no one we could talk to who could contact the warehouse and that essentially that there was no further recourse for us and that everything was transpiring according to GE policy.

On Thursday, January 22, 2009 we received a phone call from FedEX about a package that they could not deliver due to an unknown address being listed. We went to pick it up on the evening of January 22, 2009 but the driver was not back from his rounds yet. For a second time we had to drive to FedEX to claim the package containing the inverter because a GE representative wrote our address as “Bill St.” despite having properly addressed the first three packages that were delivered on January 12, 2009. Our address is “Bell St.” which the GE representatives were able to accurately enter the first time. So, who went in and changed our address for the mis-delivery of our parts to further delay the repair of the defective GE washer we are now saddled with? Then there are Ms. Adams’ lies that have cost us an additional half day of wages to consider. And finally, the mysterious person(s) who place the inexplicable hold on the inverter to intentionally delay the repair of the defective GE washing machine we had the misfortune of purchasing.

It should be clear to you by now how we feel about this purchase and GE and Home Depot. We will never purchase another item manufacture by the General Electric Corporation – not even so much as a light bulb. We will also never shop at Home Depot again. We will continue to tell all of our friends, family, and co-workers about our defective GE washer and how GE and Home Depot have treated us.


Comments United States Dry Cleaners & Laundry
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 13th of Mar, 2009 by   rellim1212 0 Votes
I am having a similiar problem with this washer, GE and Home Depot. I purchased this washer and dryer and had it delivered on 2/21/09. Within a week the washer did not work and needed service. I was told it was the electrical panel on the unit and needed to be replaced. After a week of waiting for the part it was finally installed yesterday and guess what...still doesn't work properly. GE and Home Depot are both useless!!! I now have to wait another week for a GE service technician to come back again. For almost a month now I have had a brand new washer that I can't use...gotta love it!!! So I totally agree with you in not purchasing anything from GE or Home Depot ever again.
 5th of Sep, 2009 by   angrycustomer2009 0 Votes
I agree with both of you. I also got my GE washer at home depo. I have only had it for about two months, and now the washes won't complete. It goes back and forth between 23, 22, 21, 23, 22, 21 (for example) minutes remaining. I first called to home depot, and they told me I need to call GE. I then talked to GE “Customer Relations” and the woman from GE told me that home depot employees installed the washer and that I need to contact home depot. I called home depot again and asked for a manager, and she told me that GE employees installed it and that I need to call GE. GE has a number 1-800-GE-CARES. I think it should be 1-800-GE-SUCKS! Now I'm afraid I will have problems as described above and that it won't be fixed for at least a month. I thought the washer would be good because of consumer reports report on it, but consumer reports (I believe) doesn't rate a company's customer service. Now I'm thinking that a company's customer service is probably more important even than the product.
 7th of May, 2010 by   mesotired 0 Votes
Same thing... I have worked all day trying to find an available part here. For the low price of $250.00 I can drive across town and pick it up. So I do just that. I'm a pretty handy guy, I know when one said part will not fit to another said part, and guess what...it not fit good! HAR HAR HAR...That's how I stumbled onto this page whilst looking for the secret squirrel code to installing this piece of crap part into this piece of crap only one year old overly priced piece of crap GE washing machine purchased at Home Depot. If there are any "do it yerselfers" whom are surfing the web trying to figure out why yer piece of crap GE front loader washing machine will not spin, and you also stumble across this page, please allow me to ease your suffering a bit.

1. Find the error code. If it has anything to do with the "motor drive" category, go to step #2
2. Do an ohms test on the motor. If bad, replace motor$$$$$/If good, continue to step #3
3. Do an ohms test on the "INVERTER BOARD". If bad, replace$$$$/If good... GOOD LUCK! That's as far as I got
That inverter board is the little bugger that has cost me $250.00 So now I must continue on my quest
across the vastness of the internet to find out how it goes back together! Bye!
 20th of May, 2010 by   Dissatisfied GE Customer 0 Votes
I wished I'd seen this page before I bought mine. This was a Consumer's Report top recommendation. Well, guess what...it's a piece of junk! I bought my set in Sept 09 from Lowe's. I started experiencing problems in March 10. Took excessive time to wash, clothes not clean/rinsed (soap still in laundry), dripping with water after cycle complete. In the rinse/spin cycle it will continually go from 7 back to 12 minutes. It may do this a few times or take cover an hour to complete this short cycle. I keep getting told either I had too many clothes or not enough ("Should be equivalent of 12 large bath towels" per the technician (that won't even fit!). After taking 3 weeks to get a service tech out, he said it was working correctly but decided to replace the circuit board. Long story short...The service tech has been out four times since March and it is now the end of May. It takes an average of 2-3 weeks to get an appointment. This last appointment only took four days because they called us because of a complaint letter my spouse wrote. Still didn't do any good when he was here today. Told me to use less detergent (if I use any less, I'll be washing with water. It does not get the clothes clean. It releases the fabric softner whenever (even before the washer starts). I can never tell how long it will take to complete a cycle and then they may still have soap in them and be dripping wet. "But that's what the machine is designed to do" to quote the service tech! I've talked to Lowe's but GE has the first year of warranty and they can't do anything at this point. I did buy an extended warranty and it kicks in in Sept. But in the meantime I'll continue to call GE service and make them come out at least once a month. I will never buy a GE product again and have told everyone I see not to buy GE. Did you know they are selling out to a foreign country...then they will give even less service.
 30th of Jun, 2010 by   SLUTCHKUS 0 Votes
I HAVE A GE FRONTLOAD MODEL #WCVH6260FWW AND i THINK IT IS THE WORST PURCHASE I EVER MADE, I HAVE TROUBLE WITH IT SPINNING THE WATER OUT SOMETIMES CLOTHES COME OUT DRIPPING WET. I THOUGHT IF I SPENT THE EXTRA MONEY AND BOUGHT THE FRONTLOAD WASHER I WOULD BE SAVING MONEY.RIGHT NOW I JUST WANT A WASHER THAT WORKS, NEXT WASHER WILL NOT BE A GE OR A FRONTLOAD.
 27th of Jul, 2010 by   darlene70 0 Votes
We purchased this same washer GE Model WCVH6800J1WW from Kleckners in Whitehall, Pa in February 2010. We were never told it was an old model. They were out twice and coming a third time to replace the leveling legs. Ours jumps inches on the basement concrete floor when in the High Speed Spin Cycle. The tech told us if this doesn't correct it, we need to get a GE TECH to come in and not call them anymore. This was a floor model which they guaranteed was a perfect washer but never told us it was an old model. Boy were we taken. Also our towels & washcloths smell after mold or mildew.

We are so disgusted. The next step if the Ge Tech can't correct the problem will be the Attorney General and the Watchdog of our local newspaper, The Morning Call.

Dennis70
 9th of Aug, 2010 by   M.M.M. 0 Votes
Wow. It's funny to me how people say "I will never buy from GE again because the one appliance I bought from them has malfunctioned." It happens people. New appliances don't last like they used to and that's because people want bells and whistles for cheap. Now I'm not saying these are cheap appliances. But I'm sure as you stood in the store with your consumer reports and your handouts from other stores you complained when you wouldn't get an extra few dollars off. You get what you pay for. Not to mention... you're buying Korean products. HELLO. You want parts sooner, don't buy from overseas. You want something that's lasts...don't buy from overseas. As far as Home Depot, you bought from a box store. Do you really thing they were going to help you after you purchase and item. They got their money and there are many fish in their sea... You should have thought about that. GE is actually one of the best products made in front load washers. If you're not happy with them then you're out of luck. No one is better. Every now and again there's a bump in the road. Just like anything else. Think of all the millions of these sold in the US right now and look how many people out of those millions are complaining... been in business since the 50s and work on everything we sell. Number one service calls: Frigidaire. Hardest products to get parts and service: LG and Samsung. Oh and that Kenmore you buy, ask who it's made by. No longer whirlpool. Now it's LG and Frigidaire
 9th of Aug, 2010 by   M.M.M. 0 Votes
." Told me to use less detergent (if I use any less, I'll be washing with water."

If you do some studying, you need only a table spoon of HE soap per "normal" load of clothes. And you probably didn't know that your liquid soap is made with animal fat. That's what holds the soap together. You use too much and it won't wash out of your clothes which dirt loves to stick to. Fabric softener is the worst for this problem .
 9th of Aug, 2010 by   M.M.M. 0 Votes
"Also our towels & washcloths smell after mold or mildew."

Few problems here... The doors on the front loading washer are made air tight. Obviously you don't want water leaking out the front. When clothes smell usually its either because you left them in too long or in between cycles you are not leaving your door open even just a crack. 2 simple things and usually smells and mold are not a problem. Other thing most people don't know to do is to wash your washer because like everything else you clean...those need it too. Once a month. Same goes for any front load washer you buy.
 26th of Aug, 2010 by   Leah Cole 0 Votes
I purchased a GE front load washer, Mod #WCVH6800J1WW, one year ago. I've had to call GE for repair 3 times. First two times it vibrated EXCESSIVELY! First repair person to come out did not fix the vibration. It kept getting worse. Finally, I called for another fix for the vibration. This repairman they sent did a good job. No more vibration. Then one day the washer wouldn't complete the cycle. I would start it again and the door would lock and within seconds it would unlock. I had put the instruction papers down below in the pedestal (which by the way, cost another $200 plus). The pedestal was overflowing with water. Instructions sopping wet. I called GE repair again and they sent the same guy out who had come the first time. The long and short of it is that he insisted I must have left the pump filter loose after I emptied it, not only that but he insisted I must have also left the pedestal open too. He admitted the pump filter was tightly shut when he arrived. By the way this thing is just one more piece of aggrevation. I told him I did not leave the pump filter loose, nor did I leave the pedestal open. I think I know how to turn something clockwise tightly. And I certainly know how to close a drawer. Learned these as a child. The result--they will not replace this piece of crap, so I am stuck having to buy an extended warrenty because of their lousy design and function. PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR. DO NOT PURCHASE A GE ANYTHING, ESPECIALLY A FRONT LOADING WASHER. YOU WILL REGRET IT. I DO. LJC
 4th of Oct, 2010 by   Flooded 0 Votes
This machine is a complete piece of junk, GE WCVH6800J1WW! I have been unhappy with it since I bought it in Feb 2010 - 7 months ago. It takes too long to wash a load, is way too loud so you don't want to run it at night, it stinks, it does not get the clothes really clean and the clothes that are washed in it stink. I do not leave the clothes sitting in the machine and we always leave the door open so it will air out. I regularly run the clean cycle through it and clean out the area you are suppose to. I ran the basket clean cycle tonight and while the machine was half way full of bleach and water the door swung open and water came gushing out past the laundry room and into the oak hallway in 2 directions and down the oak stairs. I was coming up the stairs at the time and almost had a heart attack! It was so much water, we tried to get it up as fast as possible, but we had water dripping from the ceiling below. Now, we have a floor drain in the tiled laundry room, but when the door flings open and water comes gushing right out a floor drain does not matter. I read in the warranty that damages are not covered so what am I supposed to do now. BEWARE if you have this washer and by all means do not buy one, you can have mine if you want one so bad.
 27th of Dec, 2010 by   jbrads 0 Votes
I had a similar experience with GE on my less than year old dishwasher that took numerous calls and time off work only to have it operational in just under 30 days - in that time my idea of warranty is to rip out the machine in questions and haul it to the dump while purchasing a new one from another mfg. Today I still believe this is the best warranty one can buy...30 days without the ability to wash clothes is the same as 30 with no dishwasher, refrigerator, stove, or any product from GE.
 2nd of Oct, 2011 by   CaymanKaye 0 Votes
My husband and I purchased this washer in January of 2008. It was the most expensive washing machine that we have ever purcahsed, and by far the worst. It does not clean our clothes any more effectively than our prior washer, which was a garage sale find top loader with agitator. Nor, as an Energy Star rated appliance, has it saved us anything on our electric bill.

Worst of all, after only 3 years, the internal clamps which hold everything together have completely distentegrated, causing the machine to spew clouds of black smoke and emit an "on fire" smell if one attempts to use it.

The repair person told us that this is very common in these machines if your water has minerals or a high salt content in it. The fastenings inside of the machine are all made from a very cheap aluminum that is easily corroded by such water. He said that a 3 year life span was typical.

Because our machine is still under warranty, it is being "repaired". If you want to call being repaired taking 6 weeks and counting, and the fact that one of us has now had to give up 72 hours and counting of life sitting around waiting for a repair person. If you want to say that having literally every moving part in our washing machine replaced, as opposed to just giving us a new one, and then having a machine that still does not work - oh, excuse me, we can currently use the machine if we wash only very light loads on the low spin cycle-then by all means, consider this machine and it's warranty a great buy!

6 weeks into this mess, we are still hauling laundry to the laundry mat and waiting for our machine to be truly fixed. I need to mention here, also, that this is not the first problem that we have had with this machine, it is simply the worst. Since we have purchased it, we have had to have repairmen out 6 times, and we, obviously, are not done.

Even better is the knowledge that all of our new, cheaply made in China parts will immediately start to disintegrate with expousre to our well water. So, if the macine is ever working again, we can expect to kick it to the curb in another 3 years.

I need to mention another tidbit from the repairman here. He said that if you are going to use the delay cycle of the washer to never use liquid detergent, which is exactly what we use. The detergent immediately travels down into the washer and sits there until whenever the cycle starts. The detergent (like water with minerals or salt) is also very corrosive to the machine, which explains the rust spot that developed on the bottom of our washer within the first year that we owned it.

Ironically, one of the selling points we were given with this product was that it was great if you had well water, because it used so much less water than a top loader that it would save energy because the well pump would not need to work as hard.

No doubt I give this product a 0 out of 5 stars.
 18th of Oct, 2011 by   ScooterDame 0 Votes
I also purchased a GE Washer, model # WCVH6800J1WW in April of 2009 and after a week, the time remaining kept going up and down, so I called for repair and was told that's the time remaining within each cycle, wash, rinse, spin, etc. I called Best Buy because I did not like the way it operated and was bascially told tough, nothing we can do and you're stuck with it. Now, 2 1/2 years later, with a washer that's still new to me, quit half way through a cycle and when I opened the door, gallons of water started to pour out, so I opened the drain at the bottom (never had a more high maintenance washer between clean basket and the need to drain, clean the inside rubber gasket, etc.), and more gallons came pouring out. Now the water does not fill the tub, it just quit. For a "large capacity" load washer, only being able to fit 6 towels at a time is small and even then, my washer dances across the floor when it's only half full of laundry, and often times, they are still wet and can't spin correctly, and I'm quite sure it's out of balance and have to wonder if that's the problem, but I won't know until I pay someone $200-$300 to repair it because I didn't purchase the $200 warranty. No love from me...
 13th of Feb, 2012 by   MDFreeMD 0 Votes
I too have purchased this set and I am unsatisfied with the quality of workmanship that went into this product. The washer continues to get off balance and makes loud disturbing noises. I will not purchase another GE product if this issue is not recalled or fixed. We ALL work too hard for our money to watch it just go down the drain.
 13th of Feb, 2012 by   MDFreeMD 0 Votes
I totally agree with all these comments!!! I too purchased a GE Washer WCVH6800J1WW and have been completely dissatisfied with the product and the performance it gives. The washer continues to get off balance, making loud & annoying sounds. I will never buy another GE product if this issue isn't recalled & fixed. We ALL work too hard for our money, to end up being this unhappy, especially on a product that is used on a daily basis.
 16th of Dec, 2012 by   tzarita88 0 Votes
All your comments ring true with me also. I purchased this same washer in January of 2009. It has worked...sort of in that time, but I have to constantly re-spin the water out of my clothes because it won't do it on it's own. Also emptying the collected water at the base of the washer is a hassle for someone like me with arthritis in my back.
The washer does wash clothes reasonably well, but it's so temperamental I'm tempted to go back to a plain, old fashioned top loading washer with an agitator and nothing computerized...just primitive dials and buttons. At least there's less to go wrong on them, they're plain-james and they clean well. And, as a bonus, they cost half or less of what I paid for this one. Of course, needless to say, it WON'T be a GE a brand known for it's poor repair record.
 5th of Jul, 2013 by   JimLucas 0 Votes
We have filed several complaints about the GE WCVH model as a fire hazard. Please sign our petition at http://www.thepetitionsite.com/739/633/604/recall-ge-wcvh-front-loading-washing-machines-due-to-smoking-fire-hazard/
 8th of Jul, 2013 by   tzarita88 0 Votes
After a jillion headaches and unreliable performance from this piece of s*** washer, It's now been given the last rites and hauled to the recycling area of our local landfill. May it rest in piece and be turned into hand tools or bicycles.
 1st of Oct, 2013 by   Joe Perk 0 Votes
I purchased a GE Front load Washer in 2007, model wcvh6260fww, and I have to replace it ALREADY as the front and rear tub BEARINGS are shot. Even if I do the labor, the parts are over $800 for this.

SHAME ON YOU, General Electric!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

AIG Fraud Perpetrated on the U S by Dodd Franks amp Pelosi

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?