logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
HireRight
Background check
2. (3 mins ago)
Education Credentials Evaluators, Inc.
Transcript Evaluation
3. (4 mins ago)
ASK NOW
STOLE MONEY
4. (9 mins ago)
Skycare ehr
Misleading product ( electronic medical records )
5. (15 mins ago)
World of Jewellery
Switched diamond with fake

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

FIA Card Services Complaints & Reviews - Unauthorized electronic check!

FIA Card Services Contacts & Informations

FIA Card Services

Posted:    Vincent W. McCall

Unauthorized electronic check!

Complaint Rating:  96 % with 75 votes
FIA Card Services offered a settlement payment of $570 which would amount to three monthly payments of $190 on the 28th of each month. An check for $190 was processed on June 28, 2007, but another check for $190 was also processed on June 29, 2007. I attempted to discuss the mistake with an FIA supervisor on three separate phone calls. Twice an FIA representative assured me that a supervisor would call back over a 2 hour timeframe. Finally a representative instructed me to fax bank records documenting the unauthorized payment plus the overdraft fees incurred due to the mistake. After faxing all documents with marked transactions and fees, I followed up with FIA and was then told that the manager was in a meeting all day and would not discuss the matter with me. The FIA error created a negative balance in our bank account and we were told on July 3, 2007 that nothing would be done that day. Banks are closed July 4th and I was told that it would take 72 hours to approve and process the funds back to our account. The problem is that an unauthorized check was submitted. Two FIA representatives told me that I would speak to a manager that could handle the matter for me. Another representative actually instructed me to fax the bank documents. Then another told me that nothing was going to happen and that it was waiting on the manager's desk for July 5 business matters.
Comments United States Unauthorized Charges
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 27th of Jul, 2007 by   Kenneth D. Eichner 0 Votes
Unauthorized electronic check. I had a credit balance in my credit card account and they were to send me a check for the balance. Instead they sent the check back to the entity that gave me the balance without my authorization.
 23rd of Oct, 2007 by   Kari H. 0 Votes
On 10/05/07 FIA made an unauthorized payment of $967 when I told them I would be calling a payment in. I made a payment and after that cleared I noticed they had taken the money out of my checking account too. I have been calling the customer service dept since 10/10/07 when I was told they will wire the money back into my checking account. I called after 7 business days and was told that it was just processed on 10/16/07 and a manager assured me that I will have my money with in 5 business days. Called 10/23/07 because I still had not received my money and was told it was approved in the morning I should have my money with in 5 to 7 business days. I decided to call back later that night and was told it was approved 10/23/07 at 16:10. I asked why was this just approved at 4:10 when earlier in the morning I was told it was approved then. The accounts manager once again assured me that this has been approved and they have put a rush with putting the money back into my checking account and I should received the money no later than 10/26/07. I don't have much faith that I will have my money then. I feel this is a battle that I can not win
 29th of Oct, 2007 by   XXX 0 Votes
I am in the process of eliminating any and all accounts that are affiliated with Bank of America. No bank is ever your friend but Bank of America is sneaky, a predator of the average consumer. They managed to take a $200 ATM withdrawal and turn it into over a $500 bill by claiming it was mailed under FIA card services and I probably just overlooked it or it was lost in the mail. And that's only the tip of the ice berg. I've asked my "personal banker" several times to document where $124,000 went a year ago and have yet to get an answer. Take it from experience and look close at your all your accounts. Chances are Bank of America is linked into them somehow. Cancel them all is my advise. There are many other smaller banks out there that at least give a little consideration to the customer.
 5th of Nov, 2007 by   mystify in colorado 0 Votes
Same thing happened. I was told payments were to made end of month. Paid via check acct debit before end of month and then found an unauthorized charged to another checking account which was not even on their records. I have not idea how they got hold of another account and then charged 2x for the monthly payment. Have been trying for 3 days to get hold of account manager, but he is never there..
 6th of Nov, 2007 by   Robert Kornack 0 Votes
FIA Card Services must be just plain stupid. I was a long term custom that charged approximately $40,000 yearly. I had a dispute over a bank charge and they would not resolve it to my satisfaction. I asked a simple question "Does anyone care if I cancel the credit card?" The response was "NO", so I cancelled the card. I continue to receive blank checks etc. etc. from them.
 5th of Dec, 2007 by   Tascha 0 Votes
FIA Card Services are scammers!!! I have been dealing with their stupid "auto deduction/electronic check" system since January 07. I am pissed! On November 28, 07 I contacted them and asked them to not deduct payments from my account for November since I would be closing my account. I also informed them that I was working with an attorney that was handling my debts and would include B of A as one of the debtors, thus lowering my monthly payment and eliminating my interest. So, he instructed me to contact them to cancel the payments for the next three months, close my account, etc. I spoke with Denise at FIA on 11/28 (her ext. is 86705, if you'd like to call her and complain! I did!). She assured me the payments were cancelled, contract cancelled and even gave me a confirmation number. Guess what? My bank account was over drafted the next day! I went to the bank to close my account. The money had already been removed (my theory is it was removed in a panic). I told my bank that the check was signed without my prior authorization and gave them the info for Denise. I was told they "forged" my signature and a case file was opened. Then I was told three days later that they couldn't refund my money. Since, FIA had been removing the same amount since January, it would be hard to prove that I didn't authorize payment and expect it to come out...So, now I am closing my bank account (even though it has a negative balance...GRRR) and I'm pissed at FIA. Neither my bank or FIA will be getting anymore business from me. >:( And to top it off - Now FIA is contact both my attorney and me and refuses to work with either of us saying we have "breached" our contract...WTF???
 10th of Dec, 2007 by   Cindy Salsberry 0 Votes
I agree FIA CARD SERVICES is sneaky, and overcharging me with a high interest rate even though I have now good credit. I tried to get them to lower my interest but they won't do it. Also a long time ago this account that I now have belonged to a credit union called SEABOARD CREDIT UNION here in Jacksonville Florida. Later after a few years they sold my account to Bank of America and now they and I know for sure they are associated with FIA card Services!

For anyone out there that doesn't know this, it is true. My account in turn has been closed now and now I am having plans to transfer my whole balance which is not very high to a REPUTABLE CREDIT UNION VS THIS BANK. I don't recommend doing any kind of business with this bank for credit card services.
 3rd of Jan, 2008 by   EA 0 Votes
MBNA WHICH IS NOW FIA CARD SERVICES ISSUED MY FATHER A CREDIT CARD WHEN HE WAS 70+ YEARS OF AGE AND ALLOWED HIM TO RUN UP A $4500.00 ACCOUNT BALANCE BEFORE HE PAASED AWAY IN JAN. 2007 . UPON A NEW YEARS 2008 VISIT TO MY MOM'S , WE TRIED TO SETTLE THE ESTATE MOF MY FATHER. OUR ATTONEY SAID THAT WE NEEDED TO GO TO THE COURT HOUSE AND MAKE SURE THAT THE PROBATE WAS CLEAR. UPON READING THE FILE AT THE PROBATE COURT WE FOUND THAT FIA CARD SERVICES HAS PLACED A $15630.84 CLAIM AGAINST MY FATHERS ESTATE. WHEN I CALLED FIA CS OR SHOULD I SAY FIA BS I TALKED TO THIER ESTATE SERVICES DIVISION REPERSENTATIVE NAMED CONNIE JACOBS SHE WAS NICE ENOUNGH BUT NO HELP AS SHE WANTED ALL OF THE MONEY. NUMBER ONE WHO IN THIER RIGHT MIND WOULD GIVE A SEVENTY + YEAR OLD MAN A CREDIT CARD WITH THAT HIGH OF A LIMIT, TWO, THIS WOMAN MUST BE ON DRUGS IF SHE THINKS THAT A EIGHTY YEAR OLD WIDOW WHO LIVES ON SOCIAL SECURITY AND STILL HAS TO WORK A PARTIME JOB JUST TO GET BY HAS $15000.00 TO GIVE TO THEM. IT WAS WRONG FOR MY FATHER TO HIDE THIS CREDIT CARD FROM MY MOM BUT IF FIA CARD SERVICES SHOULD TAKE ANY SETTLE MENT OFFER THAT IS OFFERED TO THEM FOR THIER DUMB , GREEDY BUISNESS DECSION. THEY CAN FILE ALL OF THE CLAIMS THAT THEY WANT BUT THERE IS NOTHING THERE FOR THEM TO GET. THESE PEOPLE ARE CREDIT SHARKS SO SWIM VERY CAREFULLY IN THESE WATERS. FIA CARD SERVICES ARE LEGALIZED LOAN SHARKS SO DO NOT DO BUINESS WITH THEM.
 23rd of Jan, 2008 by   Scott Kitchen 0 Votes
Three years ago I opened a credit card account with Bank Of America. My original agreement was an interest rate of 0% for twelve months then after the interest would be 8.9%. Well after just 9 months my interest rate went from 0 to 12.9 %. Then on month 12 Bank of America informed me that FIA Card Services would manage my account and that my interest rate would be raising to 14.9 %. Then on month 15 they raised my interest rate to 17.9 % and then again on month 24 they raise it to my current rate of 18.9 %. Now I recieved a notice that my annual interest rate will be raising to 27.99% because of info contained in my TransUnion Credit Report, I contacted TransUnion to recieve a copy of my credit report to find out exactly what info they are basing this interest rate hike on. I have perfect credit according to my local bank that I have loans with. I have never missed a payment or been late with a payment to Bank OF America. This whole experience with BOA and FIA has been deplorable. I have an account with Discover Card and I have had an excellent experience with them so far. I would not recommend Bank Of America to anyone. Loan Sharks for sure!
 5th of Mar, 2008 by   Snoopy 0 Votes
Note to Scott - you might want to reconsider your Discover Card. If I recall, the website I was just on (I googled "credit cards backed by FIA), I think Discover is one of them. Check out Capital One. If you are interested, go to www.boycottbankofamerica.com. Some interesting information there and they have a list of banks that aide illegal aliens by honoring their Matricular Consular card in the U.S. as well as banks that don't.
 22nd of Mar, 2008 by   Janice L.Korzaniewski 0 Votes
I received notification by mail that my credit card accounts have been closed because I have filed bankruptcy. I have never filed Bankruptcy and have sent a letter indicating this to Equifax Credit Services as this misinformation is having a negative impact on my credit score and credit history.
 28th of Mar, 2008 by   Mike H. 0 Votes
I too started with an MC account from another bank which Bank of AM acquired. Due to health reasons, I fell behind in regular payments. I've now been sent phone and letters via Fedex that I'm on "Final Notice" to settle account. Contacted FIA tonite, 2hrs prior to my FINAL/FINAL NOTICE; and was offered a payoff settlement of 12% of total indebtness. I must make this decision within 24 hrs. I talked to 4 differnt people at FIA, obviously being passed up the decision pole.
My question, has anyone ever settled with FIA and does it really remove your debt from your credit report?
This is all souunding so SCAMish to me???????Desperate!
 7th of Apr, 2008 by   TechSkills Sucks 0 Votes
i can confirm these reports... they take drafts without approval. they scam and lie to good people... it's a shame.
 14th of Apr, 2008 by   settled 0 Votes
i settled my credit card debt with Bank of America. they purchased MBNA, who previously held my account. i had to make four payments. right around my third payment, i started recieving letters from Portfolio Recovery Associates. they claim i owe the entire account and are charging interest on it and have threatened to put negative remarks on my credit report. i am trying to deal with Bank of America to resolve matter. the rep i spoke to said she had to go over account with manager who was currently in a meeting. she said she would call me back tomorrow at 2:45 PM and she would send letter stating i owed $0 on my account, but i don't trust them ... at all. i pray this is resolved and quickly. i want to rectify my credit, save some money and buy a home. i thought i was on my way, but it looks like i'm being pulled back down into the muck. :(
 24th of Apr, 2008 by   john 0 Votes
I used to work for fia card services in the collections dept..sorry if you ever recieved a phone call from me...everything negitive that is being said about this company is absouluty true...i have been told by managers who worked there to just process payments sometimes with out customers knowledge so that we can " make numbers" so that the managers looks good...most of these people have no care or reguard for the people on the other end they just want to make themselves look good...i have since left fia card servies (aka BANK OF AMERICA) because i couldn't take what was being done to the customers anymore...i would tell you to make complaints to someone within the company but i can tell you that it will fall on deaf ears because no one over there cares how they look in the customer's eye they just want to make themselves look good and this goes for all people associated with this company including the head of the divison...this company is very crooked and dishonest especially the collections dept where i was...if i had any idea how to bring this into light for someone who can do something about it i would...hope this has helped in some way...
 6th of May, 2008 by   Anon 0 Votes
We were victimized by FIA Card Services this morning. A representative named Clare Daniels claimed she had gotten authorization from my wife to take an electronic draft from our account. When I put my wife on the phone with her she did nothing but talk in circles and claim that someone had verified her story. She kept changing the subject and wanting to talk about our account when asked when she was going to refund the fraudulent transaction. She said there was nothing she could do to get our money back even though we had never made an arrangement to pay. Oh and she says her name is "Clare Smith" and that she is honest and would not use a false name because she has no need to lie. Strange that her co-worker told me her name is Clare Daniels. Well I hope you made your numbers at the end of the month, I guess it is worth committing interstate wire fraud and electronic forgery. I spoke to a "supervisor" at the end of the day who is refunding our $418 first thing in the morning no more questions asked.
 31st of May, 2008 by   Kenneth05 0 Votes
I am seeking information about FIA Card Services. Does anyone know that this company does? Is it a collection agency that collect debts owed to other banks? I have heard lots of stories about the unscrupulous practices by employees. I would be interested.

Thanks.
 2nd of Jun, 2008 by   Eliovi 0 Votes
FIA Card Services is an scam company that should be stoped. Goverment should take care of it. I had a fraud charge in my FIA credit card for $5.500.00, They refuse to recognize the charge as a fraud one. They stated that the money was deposited in an account under my wife's name at Bank of America. We went to Bank of America and there is not record, past or present, of an account under me or my wife Social Security number, Driver License, or Passport. I had to hire a lawyer and then, after 4 months, they finally recognize the charge as a fraud. During that time, they didn't answered my calls, they treated me like a criminal. I did pay the minimun payment in the statement (just to keep my good credit record) and they refuse to return thta money to me.
Sharks for sure! they take drafts without approval. they scam and lie to good people... it's a shame. Be careful. Don't do business with this company.
 12th of Jun, 2008 by   Donna White 0 Votes
I have a file and inch thick of correspondence to and from FIA Card Services over a period of about 14 months. I ended up settling with them, but regret not consulting with an attorney beforehand. I also had unauthorized debits. I had previously authorized deductions from my checking account, so the information was available to them. When I realized the money had been debited, I called them. They said they spoke to my husband and he authorized and they provided the date and time they spoke to him. I knew this was not true and immediately looked at the call detail for the only phone number they had on record for my husband. There was no call that day, in the 3 days before or the 3 days after the date they provided. To be certain I was right, I also checked the only other phone number they could have called. Same thing ... no call. They refused to provide any further proof.

I also had a documented payment agreement with them where they agreed to lower my interest rate and report my accounts as current with the credit bureaus if I agreed to authorize automatic withdrawals of the negotiated payment from my checking account and kept the agreement for 6 months. After 3 months they stopped debiting my account and started collection activity again. When I contacted them they said they had no record of such agreement. They offered to negotiate a new agreement, but I would have to start over. In one of my MANY conversations with them I learned this is common practice because they are paid commission when they get arrangements such as this from a customer after the customer pays the first three payments on time!
 17th of Jun, 2008 by   WIN NOLIN 0 Votes
HAVE CONTACTED THEM SEVERAL TIMES TRYING TO GET THEM FROM CALLING ME.
THEY KEEP BUGGING US ON PHONE EVEN THO I HAVE REPEATEDLY ASKED TO BE
ON THEIR NO CALL LIST.
NUFF SED!
WIN

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Mobile Phone Insurance Fraud

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?