logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (17 mins ago)
Reliance Netconnect
Not closing the connection
2. (20 mins ago)
blinq.com
False advertising
3. (24 mins ago)
Febreeze Liquid Air Freshener Vent Clip On
Damaged Vehicle Interior
4. (25 mins ago)
Russel Toyota
service scam
5. (30 mins ago)
CreateSpace
Scammers

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Discovery Health Complaints & Reviews - Failing to update contact details which resulted in listing on ITC

Discovery Health Contacts & Informations

Discovery Health

Posted:    Gillian Willemse

Failing to update contact details which resulted in listing on ITC

Complaint Rating:  50 % with 2 votes
Contact information:
Discovery Health
South Africa
discovery.co.za
I moved to Australia with my family on 13 August 2008. I contated the Customer Services department at Discovery Health to inform them of my cancellation of my medical aid as well as new contact details of myself (including e-mail address and my mothers' postal address details in Gauteng, South Africa). I still have the e-mail from the Customer Services Consultant where he cc'ed me on an e-mail to the department who were supposed to update my details on 1 August 2008, specifically stating that we were moving to Australia.

2 weeks ago we were informed by my father-in-law in Bloemfontein, South Africa, that I debt collector had turned up at his business (which was my previous work address), stating that we were listed on ITC and had to pay R2500.00 outstanding to Discovery Health. He paid the amount.

I have copied the e-mail correspondence between myself and a consultant at Discovery Health after her reply to my request as to why they never contacted me was that that had indeed tried to contact me. Sent me 4 letters (which to this day has not arrived at the postal address I supplied on cancellation - my mother will confirm this) and tried to contact me on our South African contact numbers. No attempt was made to contact me on my e-mail address or the new postal address that I supplied.

My last e-mail to her, has gone unanswered. In there I wanted her to supply me proof of the fact that these letters were sent to the postal address which I supplied as well as why my husband was listed on ITC while I was the principle member. There could be proof or explanations for this, but Discovery has decided to ignore me.

I feel (as per my comment below) that with so many people leaving the country, they should have something in place in their system to be able to contact people who have moved overseas.

I do not dispute the amount we had to pay. I dispute the fact that they placed us on ITC and caused major embaressment with my husband's parents because of their lack of professionality.

Ps c the copied correspondence below.

Thank you,
Gillian Willemse

RE: Discovery Health account‏
From: Johann and Gillian Willemse (jos.lian@hotmail.com)
Sent: 13 May 2009 01:33:24 AM
To: pamelang@discovery.co.za; healthinfo@discovery.co.za; hennie_reni@hotmail.com (hennie_reni@hotmail.com)

Good Day Pamela,

I don't understand. The last e-mail I referred to (and attached) in my previous e-mail, I received confirmation that the operator confirmed my LEAVING SOUTH AFRICA and moving to AUSTRALIA. How is it possible Discovery would think it possible to CONTACT me by sending letters to a POSTAL ADDRESS in SOUTH AFRICA and by trying to phone me on a SOUTH AFRICAN number???? What about my e-mail address?

The second thing I don't understand is your statement: "Since the amount is now paid, we have sent a request for your name to be cleared off ITC. Please note that our banking details are included in the document attached. Please email me the proof of payment in order for this to be done." What do you mean??

I want confirmation of the postal address where these letters were sent to AND I want to know, why if I am the principle member, my husband's details appear on the attached letter? Does this mean all the letters and the ITC listing was in his name???

I would appreciate your speedy response to a matter that could have been sorted without any problems if someone at Discovery Debt Collection had just taken the time to understand the situasion and handled it appropriately. With so many people leaving the country, is there no other way for Discovery to make sure that they can be contacted after they've left the country other than to send the debt collector if the SOUTH AFRICAN details don't produce results? This is obviously part of the customer service department. I would appreciate feedback from them as how they handle situasions like this.

Thank you,
Mrs. Gillian Willemse

"Do not let the past dictate who you are, but let it become part of who you will be."





--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Subject: Discovery Health account
Date: Tue, 12 May 2009 10:54:40 +0200
From: PamelaNg@discovery.co.za
To: jos.lian@hotmail.com


Goodday Mr Willemse

We have received your query regarding the amount of R2228.00 that was outstanding to Discovery Health. I have attached an account of this amount.

Also, please note that we sent you 4 letters informing you about this debt; on the 5th September 2008, the 7th October 2008, the 14th November 2008 and the 16th January 2009 respectively. We did not receive any response; after which we attempted to contact you by telephone, to no avail.

After a certain time has passed and the debt is not paid, our system will automatically list a member on ITC or hand over the account to an external debt collection agency; as it happened in your case Mr Willemse. Since the amount is now paid, we have sent a request for your name to be cleared off ITC.

Please note that our banking details are included in the document attached. Please email me the proof of payment in order for this to be done.



Thank you very much for your query.







Pamela Buthelezi

Member Debt Administrator

Settlement Solutions


tel: +27 31 576 7166
fax: +27 31 576 7318
email to:pamelang@discovery.co.za

URL: http://www.discovery.co.za

This is a no-reply email address. For further information, please email healthinfo@discovey.co.za or call 0860 99 88 77





Discovery Holdings Limited
Registration number: 1999/007789/06
This message and any attachments are confidential and intended solely for the addressee. If you have received this message in error, please notify Discovery immediately, telephone number +27 11 529 2888. Any unauthorised use; alteration or dissemination of the contents of this email is strictly prohibited. In no event will Discovery or the sender be liable in any manner whatsoever to any person for any loss or any direct, indirect, special or consequential damages arising from use of this email or any linked website, including, without limitation, from any lost profits, business interruption, loss of programmes or other data that may be stored on any information handling system or otherwise from any assurance that this email is virus free even if Discovery is expressly advised of the possibility of such damages. Discovery is an Authorised Financial Services Provider. A full list of directors is available on our website at
https://www.discovery.co.za/index_login.jhtml?p_content=/investor_relations/directorate.jhtml alternatively, to obtain a full list of Directors via email, please email directors_list@discovery.co.za
Comments South Africa Health & Life Insurance
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 21st of Dec, 2011 by   peter45 0 Votes
I, Peter William Smith, would like you to cancel my medical aid at Discovery . I have been Retrenched from my previous job, I just started at Shaft Sinkers and it is compulsory to join Momentum . My membership no is 369899371 . I want to thank you for your service and co-operation .
 11th of May, 2012 by   geneva1 0 Votes
please please i need to cancel my medical aid please its urgent i dont want to be listed in itc please contact me geneva 0583035624

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

5 Tips to Sell Your Home Fast

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?