logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Dooney and Bourke
Customer Service
2. (12 mins ago)
MMO Newgames Group Ltd
Scam
3. (41 mins ago)
FedEx international
I'll never use it again
4. (45 mins ago)
BES & Commercial Energy
Mis-sold energy contract & prices
5. (50 mins ago)
black onyx ring
One of the stones fell out on this 4 stone ring. How can I return it and get a replacement?

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

CareCredit/GE Money, Wisconsin Complaints & Reviews - Template for Lawsuit Agains CareCredit/GE Moneybank

CareCredit/GE Money Contacts & Informations

CareCredit/GE Money

Posted:    bajaskier

Template for Lawsuit Agains CareCredit/GE Moneybank

Complaint Rating:  91 % with 22 votes
Contact information:
Wisconsin
United States
The following complaint letter was found in research dealing with the scum at GE Moneybank/CareCredit and all their other aliases. I hope it may help you in your battle with these criminals.

To Whom It May Concern:

The purpose of this letter is to file a formal notification of complaint alleging numerous violations of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1601) on the part of CareCredit, in that CareCredit, aka GE Capital Cons Cardco aka GE Capital Consumer Card Company. GE Capital Consumer Card Co. is a ""creditor"" by definition of 15 U.S.C. 1601-§103-f (Consumer Credit Protection Act) and therefore falls under the federal jurisdiction of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). GE Capital Consumer Card Co. has knowingly and illegally: - made a promotional offer of ""interest-free"" or ""deferred interest"" which, by its actions as enumerated below, it had or has no intentions of fulfilling, said offer falling within the definition of Section 226.2 of CCPA.

- levied late fees and finance charges when payments were actually received - and deducted from my bank account - PRIOR to the due date, - charged illegal and exorbitant ""account security"" fees without any form of legal disclosure or explanation as to what those charges may be, constituting a ""surcharge"" under sections 103 and section 167 of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1601), hereinafter referred to as CCPA. - has instituted retroactive ""terms and conditions"" without proper notification, in violation of § 226.7 of the CCPA. - has provided such ""terms and conditions"" in a format that appears to be a third- or fourth-generation unreadable photocopy consisting of print so small and faded as to be illegible, in violation of § 226.5.

- has made it virtually impossible for customers (clients) to contact them in a timely manner by failing and/or refusing to answer telephone calls for periods of up to 7.5 hours (by placing the customer on hold for such lengths of time) and by failing and/or refusing to provide any means on its web site of contacting CareCredit by email or any other means than an unanswered telephone line. - has acted to quash any meaningful payment inquiries by refusing to provide requested information to the bank upon which payments were drawn, in addition to failing to provide telephone-answering staff as alleged above. DETAILS: Application for the above-referenced account was made under a ""promotional offer"" (Exhibit A - promotional offer), which provided for no interest if the account was paid in full within 48 months.

This agreement was for the issuance of a ""medical credit card"" issued by GE Capital Consumer Card Co, 5300 Kings Island Drive, Mason, OH 45050, to cover dental (oral surgery) expenses in excess of that which were to be paid by the payee's dental insurance. The debt agreed upon was to be $1, 500.00. The first payment was due September 4, 2004 (Exhibit B - statement of payment due).

Payment was received via electronic funds transfer on September 2, 3004 and was deducted from the payee's bank account prior to 2 pm the following business day, September 3, 2004 (Exhibit C - email from USBank, formerly and aka Firstar Bank). The minimum payment on the above account is $45 per month. The defendant states that ""payment is due by 5 pm on the due date"" to ""avoid additional finance charges."" Payment was received and cleared well before that time.

Electronic funds transfer payments through USBank is guaranteed to arrive on the date specificied. This form of payment was chosen specifically to ensure timely receipt of payment, since US Postal Service delivery to and from payee's address is often very unreliable. In four years, I have had no problem with electronic funds transfers reaching their destination late.

The payee then received on Sept. 13, 2004 a ""late notice"" (which bore no postmark and was, in fact, bulk mailed - Exhibits D-1 and D-2 - envelope and late payment notice) claiming that no payment had been received, when in fact, it had. In addition, the payee was informed that a late fee of $35.00 and an ""account security fee"" of $23.25 had been charged additionally. In a document received Sept. 13, 2004, after the contract was entered into, labelled ""Account Security Debt Cancellation Agreement"" (Exhibit E), there is no mention whatsoever of any ""account security fee"".

Payee contends that this ""account security fee"" constitutes a hidden and therefore unlawful interest or finance charge, in violation of federal law. On that date, Sept. 13, 2004, payee attempted to call the phone number provided (1-800-333-1071) and was informed by a voice recording that ""due to a high volume of calls"" there would be ""a lengthy wait time"". Payee kept the line open and was on hold for 3 hours 47 minutes before finally giving up, unable to speak to single human being during that time.

Additionally, the payee contacted the bank (Exhibit F - email) to notify them of the allegation by GE Capital Cons Cardo that no payment had been received, even though existing bank records clearly documented otherwise. USBank aka Firstar Bank responded to the payee on Sept. 14. 2004 (Exhibit G - email) that it was investigating the matter, then followed up with another communication - also Sept. 14, 2004 (Exhibit H - email) that ""GE Capital Cons Cardco will not discuss customer accounts with third parties"" and suggested that the payee call 1-800-333-1071 - the same phone number which GE Capital Cons Cardo will not answer.

An additional payment of $55.00 was made by the payee and received September 17, 2004 and deducted from the payee's bank account on Sept. 18, 2004 for the payment of $45.00 due October 4, 2004. No statement was received for a November payment, due Nov. 4, 2004; however electronic payment was made and received Sept. 29, 2004 in the amount of $100.00 (Exhibit I - details of USBank transaction printout), even though the payment due was $45.00. For the December payment, due Dec. 4, 2004, an electronic funds transfer in the amount of $100.00 was scheduled to be received Nov. 18, 2004, though the amount due was $45.00.

On November 12, 2004, payee received a statement from GE Capital Cons Cardco (Exhibit G - statement) claiming no payment was received for October and that a late fee of $35.00 had been assessed, as well as a ""finance charge"" of $106.64 and an ""account security fee"" of $22.38. The payee was also informed that the ""promotional offer"" had expired on an unstated expiration date, in violation of the agreement made and the promotional offer (Exhibit A). Also on November 12, 2004, the payee again attempted to call both toll-free numbers provided and was informed by a recorded message that ""due to a large volume of calls"" there would be a ""long wait time."" After 2 hours and 17 minutes, the payee again gave up, and on November 13, 2004, sent this document with a certified letter to the defendant.

In summary, payee has so far paid $400 on a $1, 500.00 debt and is informed the balance is $1, 563.13. All payments have been made and received before the due date. The payee asks for full restitution of the unlawful and exorbitant fees in the amount of $463.13 charged by GE Capital Cons Cardco, as well as all attorney fees and costs pursuant to this matter, and for full reinstatement of the ""promotional offer"" terms which were, and are, part and parcel of the agreement between the payee and GE Capital Cons Cardco.

The payee hereby notifies you, under the requirements of the Consumer Credit Protection Act. [15 U.S.C. 1601], that the aforesaid charges of $463.13 are contested for the reasons outlined above and that no such charges will be paid in the future. Payments will be made to repay the original amount of $1500, as contracted, in the time length necessary to avoid interest fees, per your ""promotional offer."" It is my intent to file legal action - as a class action suit if possible - and to seek full restitution and double damages as provided for in the Consumer Credit Protection Act
Comments United States Other
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    
More CareCredit/GE Money complaints
CareCredit/GE Money - Poor customer service


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 10th of Aug, 2008 by   Jo D 0 Votes
Unfortunately, I agreed to a CareCredit Card on 8-5-08 in the dentist's chair with my drilled tooth bleeding profusely! The 0% interest for 12 months helped me to agree to borrow $2, 480.00 for the total dental bill - I did not realize the dentist would get it all at once - that day! Later, when I went home and realized the work done so far was unsatisfactory, I called CareCredit and asked them to only advance 1/2 (or $1, 240) to Dr. Vatan to insure he finishes my dentalwork. They refused and said it had already gone thru!

Now what can I do? I want out of this Care Credit Card - can I get out of it without paying some outrageous penalty? There is nothing on the agreement that says I cannot pay up now and opt out of the credit card -- or is there?

I'll borrow the 2, 480 somewhere else, but I want nothing more to do with CareCredit Card after the nightmare tales I have been reading about them on the internet.

Thanks for any help.
 29th of Oct, 2008 by   Kathleen D. Tietz 0 Votes
Unfortunately, I'm caught up in the Care Credit fiasco. My initial dental work was to be $3245.00. I was talked into using this credit card, too. I got the bill before my dental work was completed! I soon decided to pay them off with a signature bank loan. I was quoted it would be $2701.12. I got the loan and sent Care Credit that amount. I soon got a statement stating that I still owed $621.61. I called about this, and was told it was for late fees and such. I paid the late fees. I was told that I was quoted a wrong amount. I filed a complaint with Consumer Affairs Division.
 7th of Apr, 2009 by   HATEGEmoney 0 Votes
GE Money owns all the credit cards JC Penny, Discount tire, Lowes, They have lowered all of my accounts and closed one of them. This will bomb your credit rating because when they lower your limit it looks like you have maxed them which is bad. None of my cards were maxed and I made my payments now my score is down the toiet. When things get better. Don't support the companies that allowed GE MOney to do it Shop Home Depot Nordstoms any place that doesnt use GE Money. If they don't go under, I thing when we st op using them they will!
 20th of Sep, 2009 by   Avi G 0 Votes
I have the same problem with these scumbags. They lured me in with the 12motnhs/no interests. Initial charge was about $5000 for emergency costs for my dog at the vet. They started charging me something called Account Security, and tool me literally 1 1/2 years to get them to stop, and another 6months to get some of the money back. They constantly lied on the phone (once you actually get a hold of someone) telling me that i had signed up for it on the contract when it was CLEAR that i had not. They pumped my interest rate to 29.9% and i called to get a lower rate. They told me thet put me on a hardship plan with 10% interest. I receive a very threatening automated voice massage saying my account is delinquent and to call them immediately. Once i did get a hold of someone, and after being given the runaround for 4 1/2 hours, they all aid there was no record of the hardship plan. They had also charged me $750 WITHOUT any authorization. My balance is $7500 not and thats AFTER over 3 1/2 of payments! I am planning a lawsuit against GE Monet Bank/ Care credit and all of you who have been mistreated are invited to join me. Just the illegal "Account Security" charge when you DID NOT ask or agree to it is a grave breach of contract as well as fraud.
 23rd of Sep, 2009 by   AngelaSanchez1 0 Votes
This place is the biggest rip off ever. I had joined La weightloss they got credit for me through GE Money Care Credit. The amount 500.00 well a month later La Weightloss filed Bankruptcy and closed down, so I never got to use the services that Care Credit paid for. Now Care Credit thinks I am going to pay them over 1000.00. Now who in their right mind would pay for services never rendered. I went to BBB and they even made the statement that I signed up, in December and the store closed a month later but the way they worded it the company made it sound as though I had finished my services. Well I refuse to pay for services I never recieved. This place needs to be shut down.
 14th of Oct, 2009 by   ambcutie24 0 Votes
My husband and I both got lasik eye surgery over a year ago and we used care credit. I wish to god we would have looked them up before because now we are in this horrible mess. With my account I missed one payment due too moving overseas (a us territory) and they claim they won't send bills to guam ( i have gotten 3 now) But I had mine and my husbands payments automatic when we moved here so I would never miss a payment. My husbands was never late once. Well I paid on top of my monthly payments $100 in febuary and 3 times they claim to "not recieve payment" I had to fax 3 seperate times and send in proof of payment from my bank. I did and to this day they still say I have missed jan. payment. I have reported them to my credit report and BBB and that really got me nowhere with the BBB. Well my husband the other day checked his credit report and they claim now that he is 30 days late.
They moved his payment due date from the 5th to the 1st with no notice because they don't deliever here. They then uped his monthly payment from 70 to 130 and are charging $80 worth of fees he has a credit of 2, 889 and after paying on it every month and even extra a few times he still owes as of today 2, 880 how is that possible? I am at my wits end with these people. I don't understand how they can get away with this.
 4th of Jan, 2010 by   vince2010 0 Votes
My wife and I are dealing with these thieves over the no interest for 2 years scam. We received a letter saying that our promotion was TERMINATED because of several late payments. I believe they purposely deploy tactics to create problems for consumers. If you pay bills online or around the same time of the month manually be sure to check your monthly statements. The due dates are inflexible meaning if you are 1 day late then you will be charged a late fee and your minimum payment will increase. Our late fee went up one dollar to $121 so that our next online payment of $120 was considered incomplete and therefore late. This cascaded into additional late fees and eventually termination. Dealing with CARECREDIT/GEMB is or should be considered a calculated risk. They are concerned with collecting money and not customer service which explains why they are impossible to contact via phone or mail as well.
 4th of Jan, 2010 by   derm101 0 Votes
Does anyone know if a lawsuit has actually gotten brought against these thieves yet? We too are experiencing problems with them. I have been hung up on 3 times for asking to speak to someone's supervisor. It just makes me frustrated. I am in customer service and they have to have the worst I have ever seen. I am a physician myself and they are sending me constant letters wanting to do business with them. We all need to band together and find a way to bring a massive lawsuit on their bad practices. My patients will know everything this company is capable of and be warned to stay as far away from them as possible. Complete Swindling THIEVES!!!
 8th of Feb, 2010 by   DaniSeucan 0 Votes
Please complain to their head quarters:
GE MONEY BANK
4246 SOUTH RIVERBOAT RD, SUITE 200
SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH 84123

Complain to the "Office of the Atty General" within your state

Complain to:
OFFICE OF THRIFT SUPERFVISION
CONSUMER AFFAIRS DIVISION
1700 G STREET, N.W.
WASHINGTON, DC 20552

Complain to the "ConsumerAffairs"

Submit your information below:

http://www.classadvocate.com/?direct=y&category=defendant&defendant_root%5B%5D=15806
 16th of Mar, 2010 by   Avi G 0 Votes
HAH! I have sent many letters to these bastards with no reply. They recently sent me a letter saying my account would be sold to a collection agency since i refeused to make any further payments to these loan sharks. I called them the same day, and they told me my account was sold BEFORE i even received their letter.

This company needs to be sued, and sued BAD. All respectable medical offices should REFUSE to offer their patients Care Credit. They pray on people's desperation specially during this difficult economic times. I rather go to a drug dealer next time im desperate for emergency loan or credit.
 7th of Jun, 2010 by   Elnaz211 0 Votes
I think we should have a mass lawsuit against GE Money...I have a feeling I will FOREVER be paying my balance. My balance was $1, 698.00 on 4/13/2010, since then I have made a payment of $270.oo towards that balance and now, today, 6/7/2010 my balance is $1, 711...ha! Makes me sick.
 7th of Jul, 2010 by   paula thorsen 0 Votes
Yes, I sadly agree with Elnaz211 that GE carecredit has no restrictions on facilities or their level of expertise or lack of, and I really wonder why reputable doctors and dentists would SET UP their patients to owe hundreds and thousands of dollars with huge interest penalties...why can't they set up their own finance terms for their loyal patients?? GE is huge, of course, and I suppose the government doesn't want to make them mad; however, the scams will continue until patients themselves wise up and say NO. I used a doctor posing as a board certified dermatologist ..he was a pediatrician...and lost $7900.00 to him before he suddenly closed his practice and left Michigan!
 20th of Jul, 2010 by   heidikins345 0 Votes
eh, made another complaint due to lack of resources for a lawyer.
 27th of Jul, 2010 by   AmyJo31 0 Votes
I had to get a care credit card from ge money bank for my cat. i got it about 4 years ago and i been payin for it since. yesterday on 7/27.10 i recieved 5 phonecallls from ge employees from 10 1.m. to approximatly 9:30 p.m. today i already recieved 2 phone calls at since 11 a.m. i finally got the guts to say that if they call me again i will be forced to call an attorny and sue their asses. the lady nonetheless hung up on me*ha ha*. well now i am trying to find out if i really CAN sue them! i suffer from severe anxiety issues and its been causeing an incredible amount of stress. these people get the payment due them on time and the minimum balance allowed. now there calling for MORE?? im on a fixed income i cant pay them if i dont have the extra money they want. i got this card for my cat he is the only one that i have used this card on. God forbid i want to keep my cat healthy. are they allowed to call so late at night? all i have to say is she dang lucky i wasnt asleep yet.
 29th of Jul, 2010 by   hjacobson@live.com +1 Votes
OTS IN MY OPINION DOES NOTHING. If anything, they will tell them "hey naughty bank you! Your next financial report for the fiscal year will have a line or two to mark about this (but do not worry, it will appear as if it is of no matter).

BBB-DONT BBBOTHER! GE PAYS THEM OFF IN THE END. They would be MUCH better just giving me my funds back!

Do they not realize that ultimately they are losing money in their own time, expenses, research, employee work time, etc on this that could probably most definitely add up to far more than they owe me?

Funny, I see people complain about $75-maybe $350 dollars. A mere lost wallet compared to what they put me through, dragging me through over 10 fraudulent accounts!

HEIDI JACOBSON

P.S. IF ANYONE HAS PROOF OF A BREACH OF CONTRACT (SURELY YOU DO), PLEASE SOMEHOW CONTACT ME @ heidi_0TWO@youlooktemperature not cold.com...if you get my drift...
 19th of Aug, 2010 by   Another Cheated Consumer 0 Votes
Sorry to say I too am a GE Care Credit victim. Dental services were charged and paid prior to any services rendered and when the Dr. Larry Stroud finished the work it was crappy, nothing remotely close to what I asked for or expected. I looked liked metal mouth louise. Needless to say after argueing and fighting, excercising my rights Care Credit continued to ally itself to the dentist knowing that number one the transaction was not authorized by me for payment prior to any service which in my case constitutes a form of fraudulent transaction. Then once the work was finished it was not as agreed. I had the shoddy work removed and this time paid cash to have it done right. I have not and will not pay Care Credit and they eventually handed the account over to a collection agency after I had not paid for two years and noted it as a newly delinquent account with the credit bureaus whose only means of verification of accuracy is to ask yes or no questions to the creditor and take them at their word. Anyway, I'm not going to ever pay I even told one of their so called collectors when they advised the account is about to go to legal that well that's exactly what I'm waiting for. These people are the scum of the earth and I will be glad when they are finally called to the carpet.
 17th of Sep, 2010 by   grantj727 0 Votes
Paid off my always-on-time Care Credit card on June 9th this year. Never missed a payment, been late, or otherwise. They EVEN had my auto-draft to the account to take the payment themselves. on June 1st, I had already paid my minimum amount due plus an extra $70.00. So, naturally when I logged on to the website to pay off the entire balance, I thought it would show me the ENTIRE BALANCE. Right? Not so!! The balance owing said $332.92. Random number, right? Paid it off, tra-la-la, off I go down the road to a 700 credit score (or so I thought). Tell me why did these SCANDALOUS b*st*rds decide to charge me an interest charge on the 9 days I had a balance AFTER the fact - and never sent another bill nor made a phone call to ask for their PISSY little $10.10? Not another statement (because obviously had no balance DUE, right?) not a PEEP from them. Guess it was not high enough owing to matter to them? Naturally, now in September when my credit score has dove almost 1oo points because these jerks have reported me late for two months - I call them to see what is up. Not one of the people I spoke to could speak clear english, leading me to deduce that they were located at some outsourced call center in India...and when I asked NICELY if it made sense for someone to pay off ALL but 10.00 of their credit card bill...they agreed with me but said their system said the balance was $343.02 and would not fix the credit reporting - stating that it could NOT be fixed. Um...HELLO - obviously you don't know this because you are not from my country but if YOU report the WRONG amount DUE, leading ME to pay the balance INCORRECTLY, then its YOUR mistake and therefore you CAN tell the bureaus to correct my report. I pointed out that I was a great customer, paid on time every month for a year, and paid off the card twice...and that we were talking about a ten dollar balance, not a hundred dollar balance...and did they understand that the credit score hit I have taken from this was affecting my life in HUGE ways (cant buy a house now, thanks so much, folks)...they did not care...didnt even TRY to care...NO HELP whatsoever. They told me they would show the account paid in full...WELL DUH STUPID - it IS paid IN FULL. WTF is wrong with these people? I wasnt asking for a lot, was I? My score is now at 565 thanks to them, and had previously been at 624. Don't really know what to do because I can't find an office in the USA...to talk to someone HERE...
 3rd of Nov, 2010 by   Rev.ROBERT L BONFIGLIO DD 0 Votes
YOU ARE ALL RIGHT ON THERE THE LOWEST OF THE LOW
 3rd of Nov, 2010 by   Rev.ROBERT L BONFIGLIO DD +1 Votes
May God forgive them for thy will pay for there sins what are thy who feed on there fellow Humans
 11th of Nov, 2010 by   GEMB card protection/insurance=lies!! 0 Votes
Not entirely sure if this is the right post...but I have a Lowe's credit card with them. My issue is with the payment protection. I have filed 4 claims in the last 18 months. They "never received" my paperwork. When you call for the insurance to pay after you've lost your job, they say that they don't have a specific turnaround time. I was like "for real?! It could be one month, could be 4?!" she said yes. I've mailed it, faxed it, mailed again, and the last letter said I don't qualify cuz it's been more than 1 year. Nice. I've contacted a lawyer and will contact more when I wake up tomorrow.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

2011 Forecast: Stocks, Housing and Oil

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?