I see the same exact problems with cameraaddict.com seem to be recurring.
I placed an order last night for a Canon Powershot G9 at TechonDigital.com, and the same practices were used.
A confirmation e-mail was sent to notify that the camera would be shipped shortly, and that I should just call their 1-877 #, to confirm my order.
I didn't notice this, but I did notice the tracking number.
So, of course, I tried to use the tracking number, but there isn't even a tracking function that can be linked to from anywhere on the site!
This distressed me, but I left it alone, and checked my email again this morning, only to find that the product has been back ordered, and that my order has been canceled.
I looked for some other site where I could purchase the same product for a similar price, and ofcourse EVERYPRICE.COM showed up as the first link on my search for the Canon Powershot G9.
I went to everyprice, and found camera addict- my camera was listed for a whole $6 less, and with free shipping, I got excited and went to cameraaddict.
Since I couldn't find any specifications on what was included in the box, I tried emailing them, with no success (meaning that I have yet to receive any response).
I checked their other contact forms, and noticed that their store front was listed as an address in my old neighborhood, so I checked it out.
As it turned out, a whole slew of complaints showed up when I typed in the address on google.
I found the BROOKLYN STORE FRONTS page, and became even more alarmed when I learned that almost every store there was listed under a similar address.
I then found the SHEDDING SOME LIGHT page, and learned even more about the scams they have.
I called my credit card company to make sure that my order was canceled with TechonDigital, and learned that no charge was ever made on my account- this unnerves me because now, TechonDigital has all of that personal information at their disposal...
BOTTOM LINE: DO NOT USE EVERYPRICE.COM TO FIND GOOD DEALS.
I FEEL THAT I CAN SAFELY SAY THAT EVERYONE LISTED THERE IS IN ON THE SCAM.
DO NOT USE CAMERAADDICT.COM, DO NOT USE TECHONDIGITAL.COM, DO NOT USE BROADWAYPHOTO.COM!
NONE OF THESE 'BUSINESSES' ARE TO BE TRUSTED.
DO NOT DISCLOSE YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION TO THEM.
PLEASE VISIT http://sheddingsomelight.com/buy-cameras/list/dealers-bwayfam.html, AND, http://donwiss.com/pictures/brooklynstores/ TO FIND OUT ADDITIONAL INFORMATION. |