logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Impulse Database Solutions
Cheated center..
2. (43 mins ago)
Tissot T Touch Watch
Defective watch
3. (1 hr 3 mins ago)
savethedeals.sg
I didn’t get my coupon
4. (1 hr 5 mins ago)
Charter College
Bait and switch
5. (1 hr 20 mins ago)
Hertz Italiana Spa Roma
Verbale fine on line

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Ashford University Complaints & Reviews - No compassion

Ashford University Contacts & Informations

Ashford University

Posted:    hammerhead

No compassion

Complaint Rating:  50 % with 12 votes
Contact information:
Student
United States
The Ashford University On-Line program is $1062.00 a class, I am on my 5th class, I am getting financial aide, pell grants and student loans, But yet my pell grant covers no books. It is costing me an additional $130.00 a class for the books plus express mail at $41.00, not to mention the $60.00 a month for my sprint stick. I will say it will cost me $57, 000 dollars and four years of my life to achieve a degree that doesn't even pay $15, 000.00 a year. So with this being said "what's the point". The instructors will not let you make up work if you are in the hospital, they just lock you out of the assignments equaling a zero, that they will not let you resubmit.

12 x 60=$720.00 a year for internet service.
1062 x 10 classes =1$10, 620 a year to attend classes that are five weeks long.
999 x 1= 999.00 for technology fee
$410.00 in express mail fee for over-nighting your books for 10 classes
1300.00 for 10 classes of books

10, 620 + 720 + 999 + 410+ 1300= $14, 099.00 a year for 4 years =$56, 376 for degree in a field that only pays $15, 000 a year = Income of $60, 000 for 4 years - $56, 376= $3624.00 I will clear not counting the taxes my employer will with-hold which is 1/3 of that= WHAT WAS I THINKING? AND HOW DESPERATE WAS I?

The Grant should be used for the books as well as the classes.

But I will give credit where credit is due: My advisory team was so polite.


Print Your Account History
Date Type Description Charges Payments Balance
Jul 07, 2009 Tuition EXP 105: Personal Dimensions of Education $1062.00 $0.00 $1062.00
Aug 25, 2009 Tuition PSY 202: Adult Development and Life Assessment $1062.00 $0.00 $2124.00
Sep 01, 2009 Technology Fee Technology Fee $990.00 $0.00 $3114.00
Sep 28, 2009 Pell Grant Pell Grant 2009-10 $0.00 $2675.00 $439.00
Sep 29, 2009 Federal Unsubsidized Stafford Loan Federal Unsubsidized Stafford Loan 2009- $0.00 $1970.00 $-1531.00
Oct 13, 2009 Federal Subsidized Stafford Loan Federal Subsidized Stafford Loan 2009-10 $0.00 $1723.75 $-3254.75
Oct 13, 2009 Federal Additional Unsubsidized Stafford Federal Additional Unsubsidized Stafford 2009-10 $0.00 $985.00 $-4239.75
Oct 23, 2009 Payment Stipend - F UNSUB 2009-10 $0.00 $-634.73 $-3605.02
Oct 27, 2009 Tuition ENG 121: English Composition I $1062.00 $0.00 $-2543.02
Nov 30, 2009 Payment Stipend - F UNSUB 2009-10 $0.00 $-1335.27 $-1207.75
Nov 30, 2009 Payment Stipend - FADUNSUB 2009-10 $0.00 $-145.75 $-1062.00
Dec 01, 2009 Tuition ENG 122: English Composition II $1062.00 $0.00 $0.00
Jan 19, 2010 Tuition INF 103: Computer Literacy $1062.00 $0.00
Comments United States Colleges and Universities
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 27th of Feb, 2010 by   Don D Johnson Jr +1 Votes
I agree
 20th of Apr, 2010 by   Mike V. 0 Votes
You have your technology fee of $999 in there for all 4 years. It is only a one time fee. You had a kick-back in October of $634, which should be used to buy books. I have had a great experience at Ashford so far and my fiance was able to get an extension on her class with a doctors excuse. You are also allowed a 28 day leave of absense at any time for any reason. Your advisors should have been able to provide these options for you if you had called them and jumped on this immediately.
 13th of May, 2010 by   Joe Stone 0 Votes
"a degree that doesn't even pay $15, 000.00 a year"

Degrees don't pay salaries - employers do. A large number of employers accept any regionally accredited Bachelor's degree. I challenge you to state your major and salary.com will be the judge. You are a lazy and a liar.
 14th of Jun, 2010 by   2badsosadFL 0 Votes
I am as Ashford online student. This is COLLEGE. Late work is Late, and making up sick excuses for undone work rather than providing proof of health issues is high school behavior. Many professors are flexible with your issues, while others are rightfully strict and require proof and notice. It is expensive because it is CONVENIENT! The 990 tech fee is one time, and books do not have to be bought. Rent them at Chegg.com or book renter websites. I have rented books for dirt cheap and return shipping is included. You can also find them used all over the internet. So your quote of about 130 per class is completely inaccurate. It is more like 20-50 on average, if youre smart and do not overnight your books due to your own neglect. Not Ashford's fault you didnt plan ahead.
The internet service is needed for just about any form of college, just to be fair. It is not specific to Ashford, and most households have it already. This shouldn't affect how you feel about the school. Overall, your complaints are unjustified and false. School degrees should be carefully chosen because not all of them will be easily repaid depending on your choice of career. I am going for a teaching degree that will pay between 35-40k per year, pretax. My degree will cost me about 25k roughly, because I can get the pell grant. Ashford is awesome about helping you qualify and figure out the money, and they are just like other colleges about working around health issues that may prohibit your school schedule temporarily. My ONLY complain so far is that sometimes tha advisors are hard to get a hold of once you are not "new" student status. From about 7 classes into my degree with them, I have had a hard time getting responses from them.
This persons complaint is WRONG>>>>>>>>> :(
 20th of Oct, 2010 by   mmit 0 Votes
Why would you pay to overnight your books? Maybe you should have checked places like Amazon where you can get the same books for a whole lot less than the bookstore offers. And on top of that, if you are a student Amazon will not charge you shipping. On top of that, my buddy who goes to Penn State pays almost 1800 for books per semester (4 classes).
 13th of Nov, 2010 by   GG77 0 Votes
You state that,
12 x 60=$720.00 a year for internet service.
Every one has Internet, these days, and they did not make you get it. If you need it for an online class, go to the physical school if you don't want to pay it. so that's your problem.

1062 x 10 classes =1$10, 620 a year to attend classes that are five weeks long.
You obviously know that before enrolling, since you signed the forms saying you uinderstandd the terms. You didn't have to enroll. Your problem.

999 x 1= 999.00 for technology fee
Paid once for the entire four years and Financial aid pays it for you. Other schools charge $200 per class. Be happy.

$410.00 in express mail fee for over-nighting your books for 10 classes
1300.00 for 10 classes of books
Financial aid pays for the books with a voucher. besides, you could have gotten them online free or ordered them earlier so you didn't have to overnight them. Soooo your problem. Are you going to use the excuse that you didn't enroll until two days before class started? Again, your problem, you should have done it sooner.

Also, if the career you have chosen pays only $15, 000 per year, that is your problem, not Ashford's. You should have chosen a better or higher paying career.

So basically, what this sounds like is that you are mad because you received poor grades for not being responsible. That is not Ashford's problem. When you signed up, you signed an agreement concerning late work policies, technology fees and other fees. You didn't have to enroll. Everything that yyou claim is wrong you did to yourself.
 9th of Nov, 2012 by   pruodmommy12 0 Votes
i am a current ashford student and i absolutely love it. all of the complaints you made pretty much sound like excuses to me. the reason your instructors didn't accept your excuse of being in the hospital is because you most likely didn't provide any supporting evidence. nobody is that inconsiderate for those who actually have health problems. and as far as the overnight fee for your textbooks that is your problem not the schools. like we all know each class is 5 weeks long so you have plenty of time to order your books. they let you know about three weeks in advance when the book is available. and my last serious issue with you is you cannot blame the school for what the career field you chose is going to pay. you chose your major so grow up and stop complaining.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Protection Not Worth Paying For

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?