logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
PCH
You cant register for cash prize
2. (4 mins ago)
www.gdtsuccess.com
Fraudulent Transaction
3. (5 mins ago)
Business / Personal Loan Offer
Apply urgent loan offer
4. (10 mins ago)
WIN PAYMENT CENTRE
HOW TO CLAIM YOUR WINNING PRIZE
5. (11 mins ago)
Awok.com
No value for customer complaints

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

31st Ave LLC, Kew Gardens, New York Complaints & Reviews - Return of Security Deposit

31st Ave LLC Contacts & Informations

31st Ave LLC

Posted:    Cbari

Return of Security Deposit

Complaint Rating:  21 % with 29 votes
Contact information:
31st Ave LLC
124-19 Metropolitan Avenue
Kew Gardens, New York
United States
Phone: 718-441-7100
http://twitter.com/yamurph
31st Ave LLC, Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, Elan, management of 31-10 23rd Street, The Victoria rental building is unlawfully withholding my security deposit of $2500. The above mentioned refuse to answer phone calls and respond to emails. The above mentioned claim they require a blank release of liability form be filled out before discolsing any information regarding security deposit. The above mentioned refuse to furnish a copy of the signed lease as well as failed to deposit security deposit in an interest bearing account. The above mentioned are acting illegally according to NYC General Obligation Law.


Comments United States Apartments Rental
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 6th of Nov, 2010 by   NlCK -1 Votes
fellow new yorker, our new governor Andrew Cuomo has released a few essays concerning tenants rights in NY. I have found it very informative in all landlord/tenant disputes one of them can be found in this link

http://www.oag.state.ny.us/bureaus/real_estate_finance/pdfs/tenants_rights_guide.pdf
 9th of Nov, 2010 by   SuperRN40 -2 Votes
I am having same problem with 31st Ave LLC, Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, Elan...they refuse to return security deposit or answer office phones. Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy is a sad excuse for a landlord. ASTORIA RENTERS BEWARE of landlords acting ILLEGALLY.
 2nd of Dec, 2010 by   alisoniazoe -2 Votes
I am having the same issues with Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, except he isn't operating under the name 31st Ave LLC, in my case he's operating as Managing Director of The Daniel Group. 124-19 Metropolitan Avenue, Kew Gardens, NY (209-815-1229 or 718-441-7100) and is working on behalf of Nadav LLC. He has the same technique - when I first moved in he wouldn't get me a signed lease, he wouldn't resolve issues or communicate, and now he is withholding my security deposit and requiring that I sign a General Release and Voluntary Surrender.
 8th of Dec, 2010 by   Cbari 0 Votes
Yes, I called today, 12/07/2010, and it seems they are trying to run and hide from their illegal practices as 31st Ave LLC. I have tried every option to work this issue out but its clear Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, Elan, The Daniel Group, Nadav LLC, The Victorian, 31-10 23rd street, and any new name they devise work illegally. I moved out 9/30/2010. I have contacted many New York City and New York State agencies but small claims court is the only option. FILE YOUR COURT CASE ONLINE immediately. Contact The Office of the Attorney General and fax a complaint form. ASTORIA RENTERS BEWARE. All I want is the money I am owed.

The general release form & surrender are dated 1990 and there is no $ amount in consideration. NYC Renters need to keep away from Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, Elan, The Daniel Group, Nadav LLC, The Victorian, 31-10 23rd street. STOP BREAKING THE LAW
 15th of Dec, 2010 by   Cbari -1 Votes
12/15/2010 Update: Tried to settle out of court with 31 ave LLC, Ilan Cohen, Robert, The Daniels Group, Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy but they're response was the Queens county court house is down the block from the office. The owner (?) Robert explained that he pays the company lawyer monthly. He states that he doesn't care about the law, attorney general, or 311. They acknowledged the money owed but stated they do not care about NYC laws. I can not believe that these people break the law and continue to get away with it. The Victoria 31-10 23rd street Astoria, New York is where you can bet on losing your security deposit.
 13th of Jan, 2011 by   Cbari -2 Votes
1/12/2011: Update: Currently waiting to go back to small claims court to force 31 ave llc to release my security deposit of $2500 plus interest. The building is owned by Joseph & Robert Cohen, Ilan Cohen is sometimes called landlord but as soon as you sign the lease Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy is the point of contact for any issue. The building is The Victoria 31-10 23rd street, Astoria, NY 11106. Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy showed up to the first court date and told the clerck he was never served. The clerk looked at Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, sarcastic, Clerk replied "Well your here right?!" Haha Too funny. I have been contacted by 3 other tenants with the same problem since I have posted on this complaints board (1-12-2011).Unlawfully withholding security deposit. NMURPH, YAMURPH, nataninc@gmail.com are a few alias that are used by Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy. Hopefully justice will be served!

Check out this article on Joseph & Robert Cohen Miriam Development Corporation
http://www.zwire.com/site/index.cfm?newsid=17196205&brd=2731&pag=461&dept_id=574905

Should give you a good sense of business practices

Handy vs Cohen 2003 google Ilan Cohen Yezol Inc.

Bizclaims.com 31st ave llc

Educate yourselves NYC. Do your homework and you will be pretty surprised what you find.

31 ave llc
124-19 Metropolitan Blvd.
Kew Gardens, NY
718-441-7100


 16th of Jan, 2011 by   Cbari -1 Votes
JohnXXX View all correspondence
6 days ago
Hi Cbari,

My name is XXXX and I'm a current resident at The Victoria and extremely worried about the shenanigans of Nick Yasonia and 31st Ave LLC. (I'm assuming you put up the flyer in the elevator? Thank you for that!) Throughout the signing process, Nick proved himself to be completely incompetent, which raised red flags at the time. Now this latest news has me distressed -- the security deposit is a lot of money to lose!

I want to help in any way I can. Have you reached out to any news outlets? This seems like an issue many people are having and would be great fodder for NYPost or the Times. I'm hoping to reach out to Congresswoman Maloney as well.

I'm hoping we can start a petition at The Victoria. With enough weight behind us, hopefully we will see some results for what is blatant theft. My fiance works at a housing nonprofit and is gathering more information on options. In the meantime, I'm hoping to build some political or local pressure. There needs to be an end to these landlords who create multiple corporations under one building to avoid taxes and liabilities and deceive tenants.


3rd Tenant to contact this post with similar issues of concern.
 20th of Jan, 2011 by   chingchow +2 Votes
This is the same jerk writing the same nonsense - get a life
 20th of Jan, 2011 by   chingchow +2 Votes
This the same jerk writing the same nonsense - there are 1200 other tenants with no complaints
 25th of Jan, 2011 by   Johnny Doey 0 Votes
I WOULD SUGGEST EVERYONE IN THE BUILDING NOT TO PAY THERE LAST MONTH AND USE THERE SECURITY AS THE RENT. IF NOT THE WILL NOT GET THERE MONEY BACK!!!
 26th of Jan, 2011 by   Cbari -3 Votes
1/26/2011: Small Claims Case Update:

2nd appearance for my $2800 small claims case against 31 ave LLC. Once again when the case was called, Nicholas Yasonia-McBurger asked the court for an application (2nd time). Court clerk asked Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, he needed a power of attorney form. So, case was post-poned to 3/1/2011 and no more applications will be granted for 31 ave LLC. I am certainly not surprised that this company is trying to postpone their illegal actions from being heard in court. I am dying to hear why Joseph & Robert Cohen are illegally withholding my security deposit. But then again, Robert Cohen told me himself he doesnt care about the law. " I pay a lawyer monthly, and the court house is down the block". Every dog has his day


"Chingchow" Unfortunately, I am not the only person who is having this problem. In fact, you can see from this post of the wrongdoings. The truth hurts 31 ave llc! Name calling really indicates how this company operates. However with IP logs, no one can hide behind their comments! Any Verizon account can be subpoenaed wink wink

I will keep this post updated, as new developments arise.
 26th of Jan, 2011 by   Cbari -4 Votes
RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK


 7th of Feb, 2011 by   Astoriama +4 Votes
I have had nothing but positive experiences with 31st Ave and Nick Murphy - I am in fact renting my second apartment from them. There must be a reason for the deposit not being returned - they would not just withhold it for any no reason.
 26th of Feb, 2011 by   Cbari -4 Votes
Well Astoriama, I am glad that you are having better luck than myself. I can not vouch for why 31ave llc continues to break the law. However, Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy has ran out of postponements and is forced to stand in front of the judge on March 1. I will update this post. "They would not just withhold it for any no reason" contrary to your belief they are doing just that. If and when, you try to obtain yours from 31 ave llc, feel free to contact me for the all the NYC agencies and state attorneys that deal with landlords WHO BREAK THE LAW!
 2nd of Mar, 2011 by   Cbari -4 Votes
UPDATE 3/1/2011: Small Claims Court Case: Queens County Court: 31 Ave LLC sent, Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy appeared in court but unfortunately it is postponed until April 2011. I find it amusing that Robert Cohen explained to me " I pay a lawyer monthly, the court house is down the block... I do not care". However, so far the 3 appearances only Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy has showed up. I am dying to hear their defense for BREAKING THE LAW. The truth hurts and justice will be served.
 7th of Mar, 2011 by   PolskiAgn  Best Advice +4 Votes
I find this highly unlikely that your deposit would be held with no legitimate cause - I just moved out and got my security back in 6 days of the move out. Beside being an really nice person, I have found Nick Murphy to be one of the most professional people I have ever met. I wish my next landlord is half as good. The only thing I can agree with CBARI is Robert Cohen does appear a bit of a prick.
 9th of Mar, 2011 by   Cbari -3 Votes
AVOIDITNYC.COM Posted on 3-18-2010

http://www.avoiditnyc.com//post.php?postId=174

"If you are looking at a building managed by 31 Ave LLC RUN AWAY! Do not deal with them. They are the worst! You will be sorry, and it's a big waste of money".


"Do not rent with them...if you are renting don't pay your last month's rent...That's what I should have done".


I wish I did all this research prior falling victim to 31 Ave LLC.
 21st of Mar, 2011 by   housemgmt7100 +2 Votes
Fact: Only one resident from 31-10 23rd Street has had their security withheld (they were 5 months in arrears and evicted)
Fact: 1 out of only 120 tenants have had their security deposit held - LESS THAN 1%
Fact: Chris Baribault/Cbari has been offered his security deposit but refuses to sign a release and surrender (he failed to show up to his appointment at his moveout and never had a walk thru or returned his keys. As mentioned to Cbari he must obtain a release and surrender because he was not the only tenant of record and refuses to accept a check made out to him and his former roommate.
Fact: Despite Mr. Baribaults numerous attacks and alias attacks, despite his uncalled for behavior, despite making false claims, despite his cyber and telephone harassment, despite making fake facebook accounts of employees meant humiliate them and despite his repeated but failed attempts to slander our name and the name our employees - we would be willing to return Mr. Baribault and his roommate their security deposit once they have returned the release and surrender. -

THOSE ARE THE FACTS and the proof is 1000's of satisfied tenants we have had the pleasure of work with!!!
 27th of Mar, 2011 by   7100 +1 Votes
FACT: Chris Barribault/Chris Baribault/ Chris Bari/CBARI/TwinkCB/Ronnielookalike
is a lying lowlife who is trying to steal from his former roommate.
 19th of Apr, 2011 by   Cbari -1 Votes
CIVIL COURT CASE UPDATE 4-19-2011 AGAINST 31 AVE LLC 441-7100 31-10 23rd street

1. The office of NEW York State Attorney General Department of CONSUMER FRAUDS has sent a 2nd notice to 31 ave llc office building located at 124-19 Metropolitan Avenue in Kew Gardens NY. The investigator states that 31 ave llc is not responding, Joseph Kohn/Cohen, are disregarding New York State LAW.

2. 4/12/2011 CIVIL COURT CASE 20183-10, I was the first case called because it was the oldest. I explained the illegal activities of 31 ave llc in a few sentances. The truth is easy to explain. The arbitrator/judge was perplexed as to why Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy and his cohorts refused to release my security deposit. Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy represented 31 ave llc and explained to the courts that 31 ave llc requires “general release” and “voluntary surrender” signed by tenant before they release the security deposit. The courts explained to The Landlord Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy that this is illegal and no law requires tenants to sign any form. Of course Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy tried to accuse me of not dropping off keys, but quickly disproved with photographs of keys, and condition of apartment. It really is pathetic that I am wasting my own time dealing with a company that BREAKS THE LAW. Not longer than 5 minutes, the court was ready to push my case forward to the judge or return with my former roommate, which I decided to bring my roommate so the full amount can be recovered. STOP BREAKING THE LAW 31 AVE, Daniel Homes. 124-19 Metropolitan Avenue, Kew Gardens

Joseph Kohn – Owner 31 Ave LLC
Daniel Homes
917-921-3467
http://newyork.ebayclassifieds.com/commercial/astoria/office-building-for-lease/?ad=10562329

3. Filed an Aggravated Harassment Complaint with The New York City Police Department. I am tired of these people posting defaming statements about myself. Restraining order is next. Nicholas Yasonia-Murphy, 31 ave llc employees can answer to the police.

AVOID IT NEW YORK CITY

31 AVE LLC 7100



Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

FREE iPAD 3? Scams!

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?